44 posts / 0 new
Last post
acalex's picture
Offline
Last seen: 1 year 3 months ago
Joined: 13/09/2011 - 11:48
Posts: 1592
Wadia 121 and digital preamplifier
English

Hello everybody,

I just got a brand new Wadia 121 for an home demo, quickly got out of the box, connected to my SB through a toslink cable, connected to the Jadis through analog out and started playing. 

I am wondering one thing...is there any way to exclude the digital preamp? Cz now I am changing the volume using the remote of the Wadia...not sure this is a good/bad thing in terms of sound quality. Can anybody more techy explain advantages/disadvantages of using the on board digital preamplifier of the Wadia and if there is anyway not to use it?

Thanks a lot

 

acalex's picture
Offline
Last seen: 1 year 3 months ago
Joined: 13/09/2011 - 11:48
Posts: 1592
RE: Wadia 121 and digital preamplifier

As far as I understand, the digital volume control cannot be bypassed, I guess I will leave it on MAX and controlling the volume using the Jadis only.

Couldn't find a power-off button, I guess the unit is made to be left on all the time...there is a button to reduce brightness though.

The unit itself is nicely built, is much nicer than the M2Tech, has nice blu leds and a very nice remote. It has also a buil-in headphone amp, not bad as a start.

What about the sound? I like it...a lot actually. It will be a keeper if the Majik DS won't blow my mind...I do think it's a step up from the M2Tech. It's a very musical DAC and music played through is very involving. You want to move and enjoy...Keb mo album was stunning. Sound is very open, all details are there...will listen a bit more and report back

CnoEvil's picture
Online
Last seen: 53 min 14 sec ago
Joined: 21/08/2009 - 18:01
Posts: 12440
RE: Wadia 121 and digital preamplifier

Sorry, please see comment on my DS thread: http://www.whathifi.com/forum/hi-fi/the-linn-ds-dsm-thread?page=2#comment-2780612

"We should no more let numbers define audio quality than we should let chemical analysis be the arbiter of fine wines."  Nelson Pass

acalex's picture
Offline
Last seen: 1 year 3 months ago
Joined: 13/09/2011 - 11:48
Posts: 1592
RE: Wadia 121 and digital preamplifier

Saw already, thanks a lot Smile

oldric_naubhoff's picture
Offline
Last seen: 7 months 1 week ago
Joined: 11/03/2011 - 23:54
Posts: 1166
RE: Wadia 121 and digital preamplifier

acalex wrote:

now I am changing the volume using the remote of the Wadia...not sure this is a good/bad thing in terms of sound quality. Can anybody more techy explain advantages/disadvantages of using the on board digital preamplifier of the Wadia and if there is anyway not to use it?

I don't know how many steps this Wadia has but I would say if you're fiddling with the volume in the most upper 25% of the scale you shouldn't worry about any SQ degradation.

digital preamp works in that way that it reduces bit depth of a sample. so in case of Red Book you're automatically reducing sound quality. but Wadia upsamples so there's still some margin left for volume ctrl before so called "bit truncating" kicks in.

I personally prefer hi-q passive potentiometer though.

acalex's picture
Offline
Last seen: 1 year 3 months ago
Joined: 13/09/2011 - 11:48
Posts: 1592
RE: Wadia 121 and digital preamplifier

oldric_naubhoff wrote:

acalex wrote:

now I am changing the volume using the remote of the Wadia...not sure this is a good/bad thing in terms of sound quality. Can anybody more techy explain advantages/disadvantages of using the on board digital preamplifier of the Wadia and if there is anyway not to use it?

I don't know how many steps this Wadia has but I would say if you're fiddling with the volume in the most upper 25% of the scale you shouldn't worry about any SQ degradation.

digital preamp works in that way that it reduces bit depth of a sample. so in case of Red Book you're automatically reducing sound quality. but Wadia upsamples so there's still some margin left for volume ctrl before so called "bit truncating" kicks in.

I personally prefer hi-q passive potentiometer though.

I am actually using it for now with 100 volume (is a 6 steps scale)

acalex's picture
Offline
Last seen: 1 year 3 months ago
Joined: 13/09/2011 - 11:48
Posts: 1592
RE: Wadia 121 and digital preamplifier

The more I listen to it the more I have the impression is introducing a little bit of brightness in my system I was not used before...I am indeed quite tired now after not such a long-listen and enjoying the silence between the tracks...

CnoEvil's picture
Online
Last seen: 53 min 14 sec ago
Joined: 21/08/2009 - 18:01
Posts: 12440
RE: Wadia 121 and digital preamplifier

acalex wrote:

The more I listen to it the more I have the impression is introducing a little bit of brightness in my system I was not used before...I am indeed quite tired now after not such a long-listen and enjoying the silence between the tracks...

Not good, but early days.

"We should no more let numbers define audio quality than we should let chemical analysis be the arbiter of fine wines."  Nelson Pass

acalex's picture
Offline
Last seen: 1 year 3 months ago
Joined: 13/09/2011 - 11:48
Posts: 1592
RE: Wadia 121 and digital preamplifier

CnoEvil wrote:

acalex wrote:

The more I listen to it the more I have the impression is introducing a little bit of brightness in my system I was not used before...I am indeed quite tired now after not such a long-listen and enjoying the silence between the tracks...

Not good, but early days.

The "weird" thing is that my girlfriend said that now the sound is not as smooth as it was before  :?

CnoEvil's picture
Online
Last seen: 53 min 14 sec ago
Joined: 21/08/2009 - 18:01
Posts: 12440
RE: Wadia 121 and digital preamplifier

acalex wrote:

The "weird" thing is that my girlfriend said that now the sound is not as smooth as it was before  :?

IMO. The more vinyl you listen to on a good TT, the fussier you get about a digital source....thus taking something as good as the Electro to live up to the new raised expectation.

That is why this hobby is so dangerous (and addictive).

"We should no more let numbers define audio quality than we should let chemical analysis be the arbiter of fine wines."  Nelson Pass

acalex's picture
Offline
Last seen: 1 year 3 months ago
Joined: 13/09/2011 - 11:48
Posts: 1592
RE: Wadia 121 and digital preamplifier

I have the impression the M2Tech was smoother than the Wadia as I haven't felt this in the past 3 weeks, not for a single moment. But the M2Tech was a well used unit, this was again brand new out of the box unit. 

acalex's picture
Offline
Last seen: 1 year 3 months ago
Joined: 13/09/2011 - 11:48
Posts: 1592
RE: Wadia 121 and digital preamplifier

Realized something this morning...I need to put the volume of the Jadis quite a bit louder compared to what I was used before now that I am using the Wadia 121 in the middle, is that normal?

Volume on Wadia is 100%.

 

Thanks

CnoEvil's picture
Online
Last seen: 53 min 14 sec ago
Joined: 21/08/2009 - 18:01
Posts: 12440
RE: Wadia 121 and digital preamplifier

acalex wrote:

Realized something this morning...I need to put the volume of the Jadis quite a bit louder compared to what I was used before now that I am using the Wadia 121 in the middle, is that normal?

Volume on Wadia is 100%.

Thanks

Not a clue, just get a DS and stop messing about! :shifty: Wink

"We should no more let numbers define audio quality than we should let chemical analysis be the arbiter of fine wines."  Nelson Pass

acalex's picture
Offline
Last seen: 1 year 3 months ago
Joined: 13/09/2011 - 11:48
Posts: 1592
RE: Wadia 121 and digital preamplifier

CnoEvil wrote:

acalex wrote:

Realized something this morning...I need to put the volume of the Jadis quite a bit louder compared to what I was used before now that I am using the Wadia 121 in the middle, is that normal?

Volume on Wadia is 100%.

Thanks

Not a clue, just get a DS and stop messing about! :shifty: Wink 

Then you will finally come to see the system when I get a DS? Biggrin

:cheers:

CnoEvil's picture
Online
Last seen: 53 min 14 sec ago
Joined: 21/08/2009 - 18:01
Posts: 12440
RE: Wadia 121 and digital preamplifier

acalex wrote:

Then you will finally come to see the system when I get a DS? Biggrin

:cheers:

It's been on my "Bucket List" for some time.

I will expect an audiophile and gastronomic tour of the very finest that Belgium has to offer!! 8).....as well as meeting the Brussels Massive for an "excellent adventure". Dance 4

"We should no more let numbers define audio quality than we should let chemical analysis be the arbiter of fine wines."  Nelson Pass

tino's picture
Offline
Last seen: 2 days 6 hours ago
Joined: 29/09/2011 - 07:36
Posts: 930
RE: Wadia 121 and digital preamplifier

The Wadia has adjustable output levels .. does yours show 1.0, 2.0 or 4.0V on the LED display? The M2Tech has about 2.65V rms which might account for the difference in output levels and why you have to adjust the volume on the Jadis.

SBT • Wadia 151 • Aliante PF

Pages

Log in or register to post comments