Наш вердикт 
Компания Denon превзошла сама себя в сегменте, где она и без того была лидером. D-M41DAB убедительно доказывает: отличное соотношение цены и качества звука не обязательно требует раздельных компонентов.
За 
Улучшение каждого параметра звучания предшественницы
Долгожданная поддержка Bluetooth
Безупречное сочетание с колонками SC-M41
Против 
За эту цену – ничего
Протестировано

Компании Denon в общем-то не было нужды выпускать новую микросистему. Многократная обладательница Award, D-M40DAB, так же прочно обосновалась в списке наших самых популярных обзоров, как записи Адель – в мировых чартах.

С логической точки зрения можно найти два объяснения выпуску D-M41DAB. Либо это ненавязчивое напоминание Denon о неизменности своих лидерских позиций, либо, учитывая почти двухлетний срок ожидания новинки, стремление компании в очередной раз превзойти себя саму.

Судя по вложениям Denon в обновленную систему, мы ставим на второй вариант.

Читать также: Обзор Denon D-M40DAB

Оснащенность

Даже если бы в остальном комплект остался неизменным, первое в истории линейки включение поддержки Bluetooth (который можно активизировать или отключать, чтобы избежать влияния на звучание D-M41DAB в процессе простоя) – уже достаточная причина для радости.

Отсутствие беспроводных функций не мешало нам вручать моделям Denon заслуженные Award, но это было единственное пятно на безупречной биографии линейки.

Учитывая многочисленные достоинства D-M40DAB, инженеры компании немало рисковали, взяв на себя задачу по переработке внутренностей своей флагманской микросистемы.

Denon утверждает, что ее новая схема аналогового усилителя повышает чистоту звучания, а укороченные пути прохождения сигнала и некоторые другие меры позволяют избежать внутренней интерференции.

Эти новшества входят в состав системы тройного шумоподавления Denon, включающей также тщательное разделение аналогового и цифрового контуров и прецизионное заземление.

Кроме того, по утверждению компании, искажения от переключателя входов, регулятора громкости и усилителя мощности подавляются еще успешнее, что обеспечивает максимальную чистоту звучания.

Конструкция

Если внутреннее наполнение системы Denon изменилось, то про внешность этого сходу не скажешь. Единственное явное отличие D-M41DAB от предшественницы заключается в том, что лоток CD-привода и дисплей поменялись местами, так что теперь первый оказался выше второго (как это было в модели D-M39).

Однако при более внимательном рассмотрении можно заметить, что дисплей стал более плоским, что способствовало уменьшению отражений. Это не бросается в глаза, но при сравнении двух моделей «лицом к лицу» улучшения очевидны.

Кроме того, новая система Denon осталась без USB-порта. Через аналоговый и цифровые оптические входы по-прежнему можно воспроизводить музыку с внешних устройств, не поддерживающих Bluetooth (например, со старых iPod), а вот про флэшки придется забыть.

More after the break

Как и предыдущие модели, D-M41DAB можно купить в комплекте с фирменными колонками или без них. Во втором случае ищите систему в каталогах под названием RCD-M41DAB по цене около £280. Колонки, SC-M41, стоит £100 за пару. В сумме получаем £380 и тот самый комплект D-M41DAB, с которым мы сегодня знакомимся.

При предыдущем тестировании микросистемы Denon мы предпочли ее комплектные АС любым равноценным конкурентам.

Новая пара выглядит точно так же, однако компания сообщила о дополнительной настройке 12-сантиметрового СЧ/НЧ-динамика и 25-миллиметрового твитера с мягким куполом, сделавшей их сочетание еще более гармоничным. Купив полную систему, вы также получите новые, более прочные акустические кабели.

Звук

Итак, конструкция претерпела достаточно серьезные изменения, и это определенно сказалось на качестве звучания. D-M40DAB и сама превосходила свою предшественницу практически по всем параметрам, однако в данном случае разница еще разительнее. Самый характер звучания системы стал заметно интереснее.

Альбом Made In The Dark группы Hot Chip с компакт-диска сразу же выявляет расширение объема звуковой сцены и повышение детальности. Динамика стала более выразительной и проработанной, это заметно уже по начальным звукам альбома во вступлении к композиции Out At The Pictures.

К моменту, когда музыка разворачивается во всю ширь, создается впечатление, что компания Denon последние два года провела на ретрите по расширению сознания и теперь вернулась с него, открыв себя заново.

Сказать, что звучание стало более прямолинейным, будет слишком слабо. Баланс остался таким же ровным, однако система охотно отдается во власть изменчивых ритмов, демонстрируя завидную уверенность.

Поэкспериментировав с расположением SC-M41, мы остановились на варианте установки АС дальше от задней стены, чем позволяет ширина обычной полки – но даже если вы поставите их почти вплотную, тональный характер не слишком пострадает. Способность создавать весомый и стабильный звук без поддержки со стороны стены – еще один серьезный плюс в копилку Denon.

Мы давно намекали компании Denon, что ее системам не помешала бы поддержка Bluetooth, и наши мольбы наконец были услышаны. Снижение качества исходного материала при переходе от CD к трансляции со Spotify не сказывается на звуковом мастерстве D-M41DAB.

Сменив тональность при помощи Heartbreaker Райана Адамса, мы убедились в том, что энергичность Hot Chip можно без сожалений променять на деликатную элегантность самых нежных пассажей этого альбома.

Но, несмотря на легкость переборов акустической гитары в таких композициях, как Oh My Sweet Carolina, Denon ничуть не снижает весомости голоса Адамса.

Сочетание стабильности НЧ и выразительности динамики делает звучание этой микросистемы удивительно человечным.

Вердикт

Компания Denon могла просто добавить поддержку Bluetooth, чтобы убрать единственную позицию из колонки «против». Но, к счастью, она этим не ограничилась.

Если D-M41DAB – которую мы настоятельно рекомендуем не разлучать с комплектными АС – и не помножила свою предшественницу на ноль, она определенно отодвинула ее в тень.

В новую модель внесено множество значимых изменений, формирующих характер звучания, способный на равных потягаться с сильными равноценными системами из отдельных компонентов.

Мы знали, что новая система будет хороша; но мы не представляли себе, насколько она будет хороша.

 

Технические данные

Медиаустройства: CD-RW – воспроизведение

Количество дисков: 1

Поддерживаемые форматы: CD-DA, MP3, WMA

Питание

Входное напряжение: 230 В переменного тока

Входы и выходы

Выход на наушники (фронт) / антенна (тыл) / линейный стереовход (тыл) / выход для сабвуфера (тыл) / 2 входа Toslink S/PDIF (тыл) / 2 разъема под банановые штекеры (тыл)

Аудио

Выходная мощность: 60 Вт RMS, 1 кГц при 6 Ом

Тюнеры: DAB, DAB+, FM

Выходная мощность (Вт): 2 х 30

Bluetooth: Да

Входы: аналоговый, 2 оптических цифровых

Выходы: сабвуфер, наушники

Габариты (ВхШхГ): 12 x 21 x 31 см

Вес: 4 кг

Варианты отделки: 2

Все обзоры моделей Denon

Конкуренты 

Revo SuperSystem

Our Rating 
Price from US$549.95

Tangent Ampster X4

Our Rating 

Yamaha CRX-N470D

Our Rating 
Breakdown 
Звук
Конструкция
Оснащенность

Our Verdict 
Denon has bettered itself in a field it was already leading. The D-M41DAB is impressive proof that great pound-for-pound hi-fi sound need not always mean several separate components.
For 
Improves on each element of its predecessor’s sound
Bluetooth offers long-awaited wireless connectivity
Pairs brilliantly with SC-M41 speakers
Against 
Nothing at this price
Reviewed on

Denon didn’t necessarily need to release a new micro system. The multi-Award-winning D-M40DAB has hung around our most-read reviews list like an Adele record that simply refuses to drop out of the charts.

Logically, then, there are two explanations for the D-M41DAB. Either it’s a subliminal reminder that Denon remains at the top of this tree or, in the near-two-year wait for the product’s emergence, the company has once again managed to significantly better itself.

The lengths to which Denon has gone with this updated system would suggest the latter.

MORE: Denon D-M40DAB review

Features

Even if the rest of the package had remained the same, the inclusion of Bluetooth for the first time in this range (which can be turned on or off to avoid affecting the D-M41DAB’s overall performance while not in use), is our first cause for celebration.

The lack of wireless capability didn't stop us giving Denon Awards, but it had been the only blot on the M-series’ otherwise-pristine copybook.

Given the merits of the D-M40DAB, it might have been risky for the company’s engineers to tinker so much with the insides of its flagship micro system.

Denon claims its brand new analogue amplifier circuit offers greater clarity and purity, with shortened signal paths and further measures to avoid sources of interference built in.

This is part of what Denon dubs its Triple Noise Reduction Design which, while sounding like something off a gastro-pub menu, also encompasses careful separation of analogue and digital circuits plus precision signal grounding.

It also claims distortion from the input selector, volume control and power amplifier has been better suppressed for the purest possible sound.

Build

But if Denon has redesigned the interior of its micro system, the same cannot be said of the façade. At a glance, the only way to tell the D-M41DAB apart from its predecessor is the CD drive and display screen have swapped places, so that the former sits above the latter – as it did prior to the D-M39.

On closer inspection, however, you’ll notice the screen is flatter than before, meaning less reflection. It isn’t immediately obvious, but placing the pair side-by-side reveals a significant improvement.

You’ll also notice Denon has removed the USB input. There are still analogue and digital optical inputs for playing music from an external source without Bluetooth, such as an old iPod, but it means no more memory sticks.

MORE: Denon D-M39DAB review

More after the break

As with previous models, the D-M41DAB is available with or without matching Denon speakers. WIthout, the system is called RCD-M41DAB and sells for around £280. The speakers are dubbed SC-M41, and they're £100 a pair. Put the two together and you've the £380 D-M41DAB we're testing here.

Last time we tested a Denon micro-system, we preferred its designated speakers to any price-comparable alternative.

Though they look the same as before, Denon says it has fine-tuned this 12cm driver/25mm soft-dome tweeter configuration to make the partnership even more harmonious. If you buy the complete system, you’ll also take receipt of upgraded, heftier speaker cable.

Sound

So the design has undergone more than just a tweak, and the rewards are reaped in the performance. The D-M40DAB improved on its predecessor in just about every department, but it wasn’t as clear a leap forward as this. Here, the whole character of the system has been bettered.

We play Hot Chip’s Made In The Dark on CD and immediately notice the spacious gains in the soundstage as well as greater detail. Dynamics, too, are more insightful and expressive – and this is only in the album’s opening build with the intro of Out At The Pictures.

By the time it gets properly going, it’s as if the Denon has been on a mindfulness retreat for the past two years and rediscovered itself.

To say the presentation is more forward is not a slight. The balance here is still pleasantly even, but it really throws itself into the changing rhythms, and does so with sprightly confidence.

We play around with speaker positioning and end up with the SC-M41s further away from our back wall than a bookshelf would really allow - but the tonal character isn’t compromised if it’s a tight fit. Really, it’s another feather in Denon’s cap to have retained worthwhile heft and stability without the assistance of a rear wall.

We’ve hinted long enough in our reviews that Denon should add Bluetooth connectivity to these systems, and it has been integrated very well indeed. The drop in sound quality from CD to Spotify stream has no effect on the D-M41DAB’s sonic mastery.

We change pace with Ryan Adams’ Heartbreaker and it’s clear the energy with which the Denon rendered Hot Chip can be easily traded for gracefulness when playing the more delicate passages of this album.

While its touch is light across the fingerpicked acoustic guitars in tracks such as Oh My Sweet Carolina, it gives away no weight in Adams’ vocal performance.

The combination of low-end stability and dynamic sensibilities leave us with a remarkably human performance for a hi-fi system at this price.

Verdict

Denon could have simply added Bluetooth to its system and struck the only item from our “against” column. But we’re pleased it didn't.

If the D-M41DAB – which we'd again recommend pairing with the company’s designated speakers – doesn’t quite put its predecessor to shame, it certainly puts it in the shade.

It sees multiple marked improvements across the board, combining to offer a character of performance that could hold its own against groups of separates at greater cost.

We suspected it would be good. We just didn’t realise it’d be this much better.

See all our Denon reviews

Where to buy View all »

Denon D-M41DAB
£249
Receive free UK delivery on eligible orders from one of the largest, most trusted independent Hi-Fi and AV specialists in the UK. Established in 1972, our focus has been providing excellent products, service and value to our customers for over 40 years.
£249
Free Next Day Delivery, Lowest Price Guaranteed, 14 Day Returns Guarantee. Superfi is a trusted UK Retailer that has been providing excellent products and service for over 80 years.
£249
Starting out back in 1966, Peter Tyson has always been keen to embrace the ever changing retail environment. Not only do we offer next day delivery on stock items, but many of our products carry enhanced warranties at no extra cost.
£229
Next Day Delivery - Award Winning Service. We know our fruit from our banana plugs, stand by our promises, have competitive prices, answer the phone (yes - you can talk to us!) and we're proud to say we have the best selection of geeks from the industry who love to help you!
£248.99
Here at Audible Fidelity our passion and focus lies in offering the very best in quality home audio, backed by our renowned customer service and all for the best price.
The Competition 

Revo SuperSystem

Our Rating 
0%
Price from £520.25

Tangent Ampster X4

Our Rating 
0%
Price from £299

Yamaha CRX-N470D

Our Rating 
0%
Price from £255
Breakdown 
Sound
Build
Features