Skip to main content

How to watch Samsung Galaxy Unpacked 2022 and what to expect

How to watch Samsung Galaxy Unpacked 2022 – next Samsung phone
(Image credit: Samsung)

Samsung Galaxy Unpacked 2022 – the tech giant's August showcase dubbed "a new way to flex" – takes place today at 2pm BST / 9am ET / 11pm AEST.

The event is tipped to feature at least three big reveals, including the rumoured Galaxy Z Fold 4 and Galaxy Flip 4 smartphones. There's also talk of the Galaxy Buds 2 Pro appearing alongside a new Galaxy Watch.

Just like the Galaxy Unpacked events in the two previous years, Galaxy Unpacked 2022 will be a virtual event. Everyone is invited and it's completely free to watch on Samsung's website and YouTube channel.

So, grab yourself some popcorn and settle down for Samsung Galaxy Unpacked 2022. Here's how to tune in and what products we are expecting to launch today...

Samsung Galaxy Unpacked 2022 start time

Samsung Galaxy Unpacked 2022 starts at 2pm BST / 9am ET / 11pm AEST on Wednesday 10th August 2022. 

The event is expected to last for at least an hour, although it could easily stretch to 90 minutes or beyond. Samsung confirmed the event back on the 20th June with a release of a cryptic puzzle. An official teaser trailer followed on the 10th July.

Here's a list of keynote start times around the globe:

  • Los Angeles, California: 6am PST 
  • New York, New York: 9am ET
  • Halifax, Canada: 9pm AST
  • London, United Kingdom: 2pm BST
  • Berlin, Germany: 3pm CEST
  • Delhi, India: 6.30pm IST
  • Sydney, Australia: 11pm AEST
  • Seoul, South Korea: 10pm KST

How to watch the Galaxy Unpacked 2022 live stream

Samsung will stream Galaxy Unpacked live at Samsung.com/unpacked (opens in new tab).

You can also watch today's Unpacked event live via Samsung's YouTube channel.

Samsung Galaxy Unpacked 2022 official trailer

What to expect from Samsung Galaxy Unpacked 2022

Samsung Galaxy Unpacked 2022 comes almost exactly 12 months after Unpacked 2021. That event launched the Samsung Z Fold 3 and Z Flip 3, so it follows that we will see the successors to those coming up at this year's event.

Both Z Fold 4 and Z Flip 4 phones are expected to have minor – but important – upgrades over their predecessors. The Flip 4 should have a bigger battery and less noticeable screen crease, while it is looking like the Z Fold 4 will have camera upgrades and a different aspect ratio for the screen.

We're also crossing our fingers that the Galaxy Buds 2 Pro wireless earbuds will launch. Rumour has it that Samsung's next true wireless buds could even launch before the Galaxy Unpacked event, but with time running out, it looks like the company is saving them for Unpacked.

Leaked unofficial renders (opens in new tab) show new buds with a similar design to the current Galaxy Buds Pro, with the main difference being a new purple finish. Meanwhile, the latest specs leak tips the Buds 2 Pro for advanced "Intelligent" noise-cancelling, 10mm drivers and support for 360 Audio. 

Elsewhere, Samsung is expected to unveil the fifth generation Galaxy Watch. The new timepiece is tipped to come in a pricy 'Pro' edition, made from titanium and scratch-proof sapphire glass. 

The Galaxy Unpacked 2022 is almost upon us, so stay tuned to What Hi-Fi? for all the big announcements.

MORE:

Read our Samsung Galaxy Buds 2 review

Here's our pick of the best wireless earbuds

Samsung's plan to build cheaper OLEDs has hit the rocks

Tom is a journalist, copywriter and content designer based in the UK. He has written articles for T3, ShortList, The Sun, The Mail on Sunday, The Daily Telegraph, Elle Deco, The Sunday Times, Men's Health, Mr Porter, Oracle and many more (including What Hi-Fi?). His specialities include mobile technology, electric vehicles and video streaming.