4 posts / 0 new
Last post
admin's picture
Offline
Last seen: 1 hour 32 min ago
Joined: 04/09/2013 - 14:19
Posts: 51595
Arcam AVR300

MY Arcam AVR300 keeps turning its self off for no apparent reason, with increasing frequency, at various times. There is plenty of air circulating,its not hot. The red standby/power light illuminates, having presumably triggered some form of safety cut off switch. To date Arcam UK have ignored my e mails requesting help. Any ideas please?

Andrew17321's picture
Offline
Last seen: 1 week 5 days ago
Joined: 12/11/2008 - 19:59
Posts: 150
RE: Arcam AVR300

I have had two periods where this happened with my AVR300.  On both occasions over a week the AVR switched off for no obvious reason, and restarted normally when I switched off and on again.  After the first period the amp worked without any problems for two years.  The last period was about 3 weeks ago, and for the last two weeks it has been fine.

The only thing that I have noticed is that it seemed to only happen when it was using the audio signal from a Humax FreeSat box and when the room was warmer than usual.  Still, the base of the unit was cold, suggesting that the cooling fan was working, and the top was warm, but not unusually so.  Certainly a cut-out of some sort - possibly being over sensitive for some reason.  The amplifier was not on for long periods or overworked.

I hope yours starts behaving again as mine did.  Let me know how you get on.

Andrew

CnoEvil's picture
Offline
Last seen: 1 hour 59 min ago
Joined: 21/08/2009 - 18:01
Posts: 12067
RE: Arcam AVR300

I think I had a similar problem with an AVR350 (long time ago). It was a known fault and fixed under warranty.

Arcam's service devision are very helpful, but you will probably have more success by giving them a ring. I suspect they will be aware of the fault.

Cno

"We should no more let numbers define audio quality than we should let chemical analysis be the arbiter of fine wines."  Nelson Pass

Anonymous
Anonymous's picture
RE: Arcam AVR300

Strangley enough since posting this request for help, Arcam have responded today. They can repair the problem if I send it back to them. £250 all in. Will let you know how I get on.

Log in or register to post comments