10 posts / 0 new
Last post
admin's picture
Offline
Last seen: 3 days 5 hours ago
Joined: 04/09/2013 - 14:19
Posts: 51595
B&W ASW610 problem?

I just bought me a new HT system. It consists of:

5x B&W M-1
Denon AVR-2311 amp
B&W ASW 610 sub
Chord carnival silverscreen for speakers / Profigold line cable for SW

The problem is that sometimes in movies when the action gets really intense and the sub is really delivering it automatically turns itself off for about 1-2 seconds (in the back the red light is on instead of green ).
It looks like an "safe auto-off" feature of the SW or amp but I couldn't find it anywhere.
In particular I was watching War of the worlds BD, which is a really bass heavy movie.

The satellites work flawlessly. I calibrated my speakers using Audyssey on the amp.
The master volume on the amp was set to 66/99, -6dB SW level in the amp settings, sub volume aprox. half.

What I want to know is if it's a settings thing or is there something wrong with the sub/amp? Any clue?

Thanks!

S.

Andrew Everard's picture
Offline
Last seen: 11 months 1 week ago
Joined: 30/05/2007 - 12:34
Posts: 28837
Re: B&W ASW610 problem?

Where's the Low Pass Filter set on the sub, and what's the crossover frequency shown on the receiver for the main speakers and subwoofer?

Anonymous
Anonymous's picture
Re: B&W ASW610 problem?

The filter is set to: LFE

Frequencies:
Front: 100
center 90
surround 90
sub: 120

Andrew Everard's picture
Offline
Last seen: 11 months 1 week ago
Joined: 30/05/2007 - 12:34
Posts: 28837
Re: B&W ASW610 problem?

Well, I'd take all the crossover points down to 90, including the sub, turn the sub level up to full, and wind down the signal level on the sub channel on the receiver a bit to get the balance back.

It sounds to me like the sub is being overdriven with too much (relatively) high frequency stuff, and putting up the white flag (or rather the red light) in defeat.

markyd's picture
Offline
Last seen: 11 months 3 days ago
Joined: 21/03/2010 - 09:57
Posts: 162
Re: B&W ASW610 problem?

Driving your 610 in protection mode?

Your neighbours must be loving your new system  Stick out tongue

Anonymous
Anonymous's picture
Re: B&W ASW610 problem?

Hello Sups

We are unaware of any issues with this product, and I tend to agree with Andrew regarding the crossover frequency.

I've had a chat with our engineers, and they recommend the following:




First, switch off all Audyssey EQ etc

Manually set-up the whole thing, distances, levels etc.

Select all speakers to "small"

Crossover point set within the amplifier to "80Hz",

On the rear of the subwoofer, set the low-pass filter to "out" to allow the filtered signal from the processor to go straight through to the amp-module in the subwoofer.

Adjust the volume on the subwoofer to suit



See how the above goes, otherwise if it still occurs, call our service dept  01903 221700.


Hope this works.

Many thanks

Shaun

Anonymous
Anonymous's picture
Re: B&W ASW610 problem?

Thank you very much for your replies Andrew and Shaun.

I'll try it when I come back home.

I probably was overdriving the sub, because I noticed a big volume increse after the Audyssey set-up got finished. And I additionally increased the volume on the sub once it got set.

I will manually set all parameters to see how that goes.

Thanks again for your help!

Andrew Everard's picture
Offline
Last seen: 11 months 1 week ago
Joined: 30/05/2007 - 12:34
Posts: 28837
Re: B&W ASW610 problem?

Thanks for that, Shaun - forgot about the crossover bypass switch on that sub!

Anonymous
Anonymous's picture
Re: B&W ASW610 problem?

Fixed....turned off Audyssey, kept the EQ settings, set all the freq's to 90 and the sub to -7dB. Works like a charm. The sound is amazing!

Thanks for thorough reviews whathifi.com, as you can see all my gear is from your Best buy sections. Not a thing I would change =)

S. 

Anonymous
Anonymous's picture
RE: B&W ASW610 problem?

Hi!

I have the B&W ASW610 and the Denon AVR 1910 with B&W 684s for front and B&W 686s for rear.

My subs were working fine before but when I moved it's not working anymore. The status light remains red all the time.

Log in or register to post comments