Samsung's flagship Galaxy S24 phone will almost certainly launch on 17th January

Samsung has announced the date for its Galaxy Unpacked 2024 event
(Image credit: Samsung)

We've been speculating about what Samsung would have in store for its Galaxy S24 flagship smartphone since the S23 range was announced, but now the wait is almost over. 

Samsung has confirmed that its Galaxy Unpacked 2024 event will take place on Wednesday 17th January in San Jose — a date that had been suggested by several leaks in recent weeks.

While the S24 isn't confirmed as launching, this event has generally seen the tech giant unveil its latest flagship phone, just as the S23 family was on 1st February last year. 

The teaser video also gives a nod to the theme for the event, titled "Opening a New Era of Mobile AI". Considering the growing focus of AI in how we use our phones and how they work, the announcement of the next big Samsung flagship as part of this event feels all but confirmed.

The event will be livestreamed at 6pm GMT/10am PT/1pm ET on the 17th, which is 5am AEDT on 18th January for anyone in Australia.

It remains to be seen if any of the rumours we've seen turn out to be true. Based on those, we are expecting a trio of phones — the S24, S24 Plus and S24 Ultra, as has been the standard line up in recent years.

These will supposedly have tweaked camera setups, boosted screens across the whole range and two-way satellite connectivity for emergencies. 

AI has also been rumoured to be one of the standout features of the S24, with "on-device AI" integrated into the phone, for a faster and more seamless experience. It's all coming together rather nicely, isn't it?

MORE:

Read all the predictions in our Samsung Galaxy S24: rumours, leaks and expected release date piece

Take a look at our Samsung S23 Ultra review

Check out the best smartphones you can buy

Verity Burns

Verity is a freelance technology journalist and former Multimedia Editor at What Hi-Fi?. 


Having chalked up more than 15 years in the industry, she has covered the highs and lows across the breadth of consumer tech, sometimes travelling to the other side of the world to do so. With a specialism in audio and TV, however, it means she's managed to spend a lot of time watching films and listening to music in the name of "work".


You'll occasionally catch her on BBC Radio commenting on the latest tech news stories, and always find her in the living room, tweaking terrible TV settings at parties.