Наш вердикт 
Отличный набор функций, но за эти деньги мы ждали лучшего звука
За 
Чистый, сбалансированный звук
Поддержка мультирумных функций
Google Cast
Большое число совместимых форматов
Практичный, привлекательный дизайн
Против 
Нехватка динамики
Не слишком детальный
Звуку недостает веса и целостности
Протестировано

Итак, вы купили изогнутый телевизор LG  и теперь ищете саундбар, который подойдет ему по дизайну. По крайней мере, LG надеется, что именно этим вы заняты, поскольку HS8 - это очевидный выбор.

LG - не первый производитель, выпустивший изогнутый саундбар. Но удачных в плане качества конструкции решений в этой категории по-прежнему немного.

Согласно LG, изогнутый корпус - не причуда дизайнеров. Такая форма позволяет создать более широкую зону оптимального прослушивания и вызвать у зрителей убедительный эффект присутствия.

Функционал

Компания позиционирует HS8 как беспроводной саундбар, но работать в этом режиме он может только в паре с телевизором LG, поддерживающим фирменную технологию Sound Sync на основе Bluetooth.

В остальных случаях вам придется воспользоваться обычным кабельным подключением через единственный разъем HDMI, оптический или 3,5-миллиметровый вход. Выход HDMI тоже есть. Сабвуфер подключается к саундбару без проводов, автоматически и моментально, причем не важно, с каким телевизором вы его используете.

HS8 может стать частью мультирумной системы LG MusicFlow. C другими источниками этого семейства (а также Blu-ray-проигрывателями и саундбарами ) саундбар связывается по Wi-Fi. Объединенные продукты могут исполнять одну и ту же или разную музыку.

Есть несколько способов передавать контент со смартфона или планшета: по Wi-Fi при помощи приложения LG MusicFlow; c использованием Google Cast и, если сети нет, по Bluetooth.

HS8 - один из немногих саундбаров, поддерживающих Hi-Res-аудио. В арсенале модели файлы WAV, FLAC и ALAC с дискретизацией до 24 бит/192 кГц.

More after the break

Конструкция

В LG хорошо знают, как сделать саундбар, который сразу привлечет ваше внимание в магазине. У модели фирменная серебристая отделка и тонкий корпус. Дизайн не только эффектный, но и практичный.

Изогнутый корпус потребует большей глубины подставки - не менее 12 см.

Одна из новых технологий компании - I.A sound mode - анализирует контент, который показывает связанный с саундбаром телевизор, и подстраивает под него настройки звука. Проще всего было бы установить этот параметр по умолчанию. Но другие варианты настройки - "Стандарт" и "Музыка" - также достойны внимания.

 

Звук

Хороший набор функций, привлекательный дизайн - в этих отношениях HS8 похож на другие саундбары LG. Чтобы проверить, как новая форма скажется на звучании, мы поставили Blu-ray-диск с фильмом  Jurassic World.

Саундбар и сабвуфер работают как слаженная команда, создающая цельный и естественный звук на всем частотном диапазоне. Сабвуфер обеспечивает громкость, которую сложно ожидать от устройства такого размера. Звуковая сцена широкая и точная: следить за передвижениями динозавра на экране можно с закрытыми глазами.

У саундбара хороший тональный баланс: звон стекла, которое рептилия пробивает когтями, жесткий и четкий ровно настолько, насколько это необходимо.

При желании, можно усилить высокие или низкие частоты, но мы ни разу не почувствовали необходимости поэкспериментировать с этими настройками. Детальности и чистоты звука достаточно, чтобы удержать внимание слушателя, но не ждите от саундбара аналитичности и эмоций.

Сравнение с DALI Kubik One будет не в пользу модели LG. конкурент из Дании предлагает больше веса, точности и динамики. В драматичных сценах ( а их в этом фильме немало) звук LG оказывается сдержанным и невыразительным.

Сложно надеяться на большее от крошечных динамиков, и в этом - основная проблема HS8. Чтобы соревноваться с лучшими моделями в этом классе ему недостает эмоциональности на средних частотах.

Наш вердикт

В мире саундбаров, £700 - достаточно высокая цена. В этой ценовой категории покупатель вправе предъявлять особые требования к качеству звука.

В некотрых аспектах HS8 оправдывает ожидания: детальность, чистота и громкость звука не вызывают вопросов.  Но по весомости, динамике и точности передачи нюансов саундбар LG проигрывает наиболее одаренным конкурентам.

Возможность работы в мультирумных системах и поддержка Hi-Res-аудио частично компенсируют эти недостатки. Но, если вы ждете от саундбара прежде всего высокого качества звука, вам есть из чего выбрать.

Breakdown 
Звук
Функционал
Удобство использования
Конструкция

Our Verdict 
Great features but we expect better sound quality for the money
For 
Clear, balanced sound
Multi-room functionality
Google Cast support
Good file compatibility
Practical, smart-looking design
Against 
Undynamic
Not very subtle
Needs more weight and solidity
Reviewed on

So, you’ve got your curved LG TV and are looking for a soundbar to match. At least, that’s what LG hopes you’re doing, because the HS8 is the obvious choice.

LG couldn’t pip fellow Korean giant Samsung to the post with the ‘world’s first’ curved bar, but the shapely design is still a novel concept.

According to LG, it’s not simply a gimmick to reflect the recent influx of curved tellies. The company claims that positioning tweeters on the ends of the bendy bar produces an expanded sweet spot for a more immersive experience.

MORE: Awards 2015: Best soundbars and soundbases

Features

You may see the HS8 billed as a wireless soundbar, but wires can only be cut when partnered with an LG TV that’s compatible with the brand’s Bluetooth-based Sound Sync feature. This includes the likes of the 55UF950V and the Award-winning 55EG960V.

Otherwise, you’ll need to go down the usual wired route via the bar’s single HDMI, optical and 3.5mm inputs. There's an HDMI output, too. The subwoofer pairs wirelessly to the bar, automatically and instantly, whether it’s an LG TV or not. But LG is clearly rewarding those buying into the family here – not just where connectivity is concerned but headline features too.

Part of LG’s multi-room MusicFlow range, the HS8 can connect via wi-fi to other MusicFlow speakers (and Blu-ray players and other soundbars) for use in a multi-room environment. The linked products can play music in concert or play different music to one another.

There are three ways to stream music wirelessly from a smartphone or tablet: over wi-fi using the LG MusicFlow app; via Google Cast, streaming content from compatible apps like Spotify and TuneIn Radio; and, if you don’t have a network connection, via Bluetooth.

Not many soundbars are members of the hi-res club, but the HS8 supports WAV, FLAC and ALAC files up to the full 24bit/192kHz – handy if you have a growing high-resolution music collection.

MORE: LG Music Flow review

More after the break

Build

LG sure knows how to make a soundbar that stands out on a shop floor. The HS8 dons the brand’s familiar silver finish and super-slim design. Clearly designed with practicality in mind, it’s ideal for those with low-sitting TV screens, thanks to its 4cm height.

You’ll just need to account for the bar’s curvature – imagine bending a stainless steel ruler and you’ll be in the right ballpark – which requires your rack to be at least 12cm deep.

One of the company’s new sound settings, I.A sound mode detects the type of content being watched and adjust the bar’s settings accordingly. It’d be easy to keep this default setting on, although the other modes, particularly ‘Standard’ and ‘Music’, are worth a fair trial.

Sound

Good features and good design. So far, the HS8 pretty much follows the pattern of LG soundbars. When it comes to sound quality, however, they’ve been a letdown of late, so will the new shape bring new form? We load up Jurassic World Blu-ray to find out.

The relationship between the bar and sub is tight, the presentation feeling well integrated across the frequencies and naturally cohesive. The soundbar reaches a loudness you wouldn’t expect for its size – we wouldn’t hesitate to call it ‘room filling’ – and the soundfield is wide and precise so tracking the dinosaur’s movements across the screen with your eyes closed is easy work.

If sounds such as shattering glass grate on you through your hard, bright TV speakers, the tonally balanced HS8 will keep a lid on any harshness. So when the Indominus Rex sticks its claw through the ride’s glass carriage, it sounds just as sharp and biting as it should.

MORE: LG HS9 review

There are treble (and bass) boosting settings at your disposal, but we never feel the need to toy with them. There’s enough detail and clarity to hold your attention, but don’t expect to be overwhelmed at the insight on offer.

The Dali Kubik One is a fair bit subtler – hearing how hard Bryce Dallas Howard taps on the glass may not seem hugely valuable to your viewing experience, but hearing how the ground crunches beneath a dinosaur’s foot is. 

The Dali is weightier and more dynamic too, but competition isn’t the only explanation behind the LG’s downfall. In times of crisis (and there are plenty of those), the energetic score feels a little restrained and undynamic. 

The sound of dinosaurs ploughing through metal needs to be weightier and punchier to be impactful, and during one of Chris Platt’s close encounters, the Rex’s growl doesn’t come across quite as menacing as it should.

There’s only so much you can expect from small drivers, and sadly that’s part of the HS8’s problem. More midrange expression is needed for it to rub shoulders with the best in the class too.

Verdict

In the soundbar world, £700 isn’t cheap, so it goes without saying that shelling out that much should get you a quantum leap in sound quality.

The HS8 delivers in some areas – detail, clarity and volume – but without making a big enough statement with weight, dynamics and subtlety once again fails in its bid as a complete and good-value package.

The world it opens under its multi-room, high-res streaming umbrella is to some extent a saving grace, along with its practical build, glossy design and LG-centred benefits. If you agree that performance is of first concern, though, there are plenty more fish in the sea.

MORE: Best soundbars 2015

See all our LG news and reviews

See all our soundbar reviews

Where to buy View all »

LG HS8
£515.21
Free delivery on all orders over £20
The Competition 

Dali Kubik One

Our Rating 
0%
Price from £798.99

Monitor Audio ASB-2

Our Rating 
93%
Price from £499

Sonos Playbar

Our Rating 
75%
Price from £569
Breakdown 
Sound
Features
Ease of use
Build