18 posts / 0 new
Last post
HD Elvis's picture
Offline
Last seen: 1 year 1 week ago
Joined: 09/01/2009 - 21:29
Posts: 64
Arcam AVR600 old vs new

Are there any differences to the old non 3D version and the new obviously other than the 3D board allowing pass through.  It would seem that you can pick up a used old AVR600 for around £1100 and the board costs around £500 to update to 3D which comes in at significantly cheaper than the £4400 Arcam want fot a new 600 with it already fitted.  I assume all the pops and bangs have now been addressed via firmware updates by now?

JohnHolmes's picture
Offline
Last seen: 2 months 3 weeks ago
Joined: 06/03/2009 - 17:05
Posts: 149
RE: Arcam AVR600 old vs new

Where have you seen them for £1100 2nd hand?

HD Elvis's picture
Offline
Last seen: 1 year 1 week ago
Joined: 09/01/2009 - 21:29
Posts: 64
RE: Arcam AVR600 old vs new
On classified section of another well known forum
CnoEvil's picture
Offline
Last seen: 2 hours 8 min ago
Joined: 21/08/2009 - 18:01
Posts: 12054
RE: Arcam AVR600 old vs new

HD Elvis wrote:

Are there any differences to the old non 3D version and the new obviously other than the 3D board allowing pass through.  It would seem that you can pick up a used old AVR600 for around £1100 and the board costs around £500 to update to 3D which comes in at significantly cheaper than the £4400 Arcam want fot a new 600 with it already fitted.  I assume all the pops and bangs have now been addressed via firmware updates by now?

You will find good info here and it may be worth joining to get more insight: http://www.avforums.com/forums/arcam-products/

I'm not sure they are still doing the 3D board upgrade, so worth contacting Arcam to make sure. I also think there is talk of a replacement model that may be even more high end, but don't know the timescale.

The 3D board sorts quite a few of the problems, making the amp more stable.

I have one and they sound stunning with AV and 2 channel, but can be troublesome.

Let us know how you get on..........Nb. It's worth getting one that has had the 5 year warrenty activated.

"We should no more let numbers define audio quality than we should let chemical analysis be the arbiter of fine wines."  Nelson Pass

HD Elvis's picture
Offline
Last seen: 1 year 1 week ago
Joined: 09/01/2009 - 21:29
Posts: 64
RE: Arcam AVR600 old vs new

Thanks, I'm already familar with that forum.  What kind of issues have you had with yours since getting the 3D board?  BTW I think you are right about not doing the upgrades anymore after further research.  If I did get one it would be replacing my Yamaha Z7 which is no slouch and has been very reliable. It would need to be worth it.

CnoEvil's picture
Offline
Last seen: 2 hours 8 min ago
Joined: 21/08/2009 - 18:01
Posts: 12054
RE: Arcam AVR600 old vs new

HD Elvis wrote:

Thanks, I'm already familar with that forum.  What kind of issues have you had with yours since getting the 3D board?  BTW I think you are right about not doing the upgrades anymore after further research.  If I did get one it would be replacing my Yamaha Z7 which is no slouch and has been very reliable. It would need to be worth it.

My amp does not have the 3D board, but has been back to Arcam for a new power supply.......I didn't feel like shelling out another £500 for the board. It's been reliable since (fingers crossed).

I think it will be better than the Z7 for 2 channel, but not worth changing for AV.

You need to know the history of the AVR600, the warrenty that is left and the reason for sale......it's a great bit of kit, but tread carefully.

Would you think of getting a P777 and using the Yammy as a processor?

"We should no more let numbers define audio quality than we should let chemical analysis be the arbiter of fine wines."  Nelson Pass

HD Elvis's picture
Offline
Last seen: 1 year 1 week ago
Joined: 09/01/2009 - 21:29
Posts: 64
RE: Arcam AVR600 old vs new

I'm about to get my Kuro ISF'd in the next few weeks just waiting for my calibrator to confirm date so would ideally need to the 3D upgrade as I understand the earlier model doesn't have HDMI pass through and provides some processing which needs to be worked around.

I was under the impression that the AVR600 would beat the Z7 for both 2 channel and AV have you compared the AVR600 to the Z7 yourself or are you going by spec etc?

I hadn't thought of using the p777 TBH not sure what kind of impact that combo would have on sound....

HD Elvis's picture
Offline
Last seen: 1 year 1 week ago
Joined: 09/01/2009 - 21:29
Posts: 64
RE: Arcam AVR600 old vs new

I'm about to get my Kuro ISF'd in the next few weeks just waiting for my calibrator to confirm date so would ideally need to the 3D upgrade as I understand the earlier model doesn't have HDMI pass through and provides some processing which needs to be worked around.

I was under the impression that the AVR600 would beat the Z7 for both 2 channel and AV have you compared the AVR600 to the Z7 yourself or are you going by spec etc?

I hadn't thought of using the p777 TBH not sure what kind of impact that combo would have on sound....

CnoEvil's picture
Offline
Last seen: 2 hours 8 min ago
Joined: 21/08/2009 - 18:01
Posts: 12054
RE: Arcam AVR600 old vs new

HD Elvis wrote:

I'm about to get my Kuro ISF'd in the next few weeks just waiting for my calibrator to confirm date so would ideally need to the 3D upgrade as I understand the earlier model doesn't have HDMI pass through and provides some processing which needs to be worked around.

I was under the impression that the AVR600 would beat the Z7 for both 2 channel and AV have you compared the AVR600 to the Z7 yourself or are you going by spec etc?

I hadn't thought of using the p777 TBH not sure what kind of impact that combo would have on sound....

I found that the Arcam was the only receiver I really liked the sound of, but feel I am a little (a lot!) biassed.....hence the comment (ie. trying to allow for this).

First and foremost, I like an amp to be great with music, and then bring this presentation to AV, but not everyone does. I preferred it's presentation to the Susano, so that gives you an idea what I think of it.....but it's very subjective.

"We should no more let numbers define audio quality than we should let chemical analysis be the arbiter of fine wines."  Nelson Pass

HD Elvis's picture
Offline
Last seen: 1 year 1 week ago
Joined: 09/01/2009 - 21:29
Posts: 64
RE: Arcam AVR600 old vs new

I'm about to get my Kuro ISF'd in the next few weeks just waiting for my calibrator to confirm date so would ideally need to the 3D upgrade as I understand the earlier model doesn't have HDMI pass through and provides some processing which needs to be worked around.

I was under the impression that the AVR600 would beat the Z7 for both 2 channel and AV have you compared the AVR600 to the Z7 yourself or are you going by spec etc?

I hadn't thought of using the p777 TBH not sure what kind of impact that combo would have on sound....

HD Elvis's picture
Offline
Last seen: 1 year 1 week ago
Joined: 09/01/2009 - 21:29
Posts: 64
RE: Arcam AVR600 old vs new

I'm about to get my Kuro ISF'd in the next few weeks just waiting for my calibrator to confirm date so would ideally need to the 3D upgrade as I understand the earlier model doesn't have HDMI pass through and provides some processing which needs to be worked around.

I was under the impression that the AVR600 would beat the Z7 for both 2 channel and AV have you compared the AVR600 to the Z7 yourself or are you going by spec etc?

I hadn't thought of using the p777 TBH not sure what kind of impact that combo would have on sound....

bigboss's picture
Offline
Last seen: 18 hours 38 sec ago
Joined: 25/03/2009 - 21:40
Posts: 12686
RE: Arcam AVR600 old vs new

Where are you going to watch 3D in? Kuro isn't 3D capable. Assuming you have a 3D TV, it's far cheaper to buy a blu ray player with twin HDMI outputs which will allow you to use your existing AV receiver.

HD Elvis's picture
Offline
Last seen: 1 year 1 week ago
Joined: 09/01/2009 - 21:29
Posts: 64
RE: Arcam AVR600 old vs new

I wouldn't be watching 3D but, as far as I know, the 3D model is the only one that offers HDMI pass through which is important to me.  What I'm trying to understand is whether it would, in theory, offer an upgrade for 2 channel and AV.  

CnoEvil's picture
Offline
Last seen: 2 hours 8 min ago
Joined: 21/08/2009 - 18:01
Posts: 12054
RE: Arcam AVR600 old vs new

HD Elvis wrote:

I wouldn't be watching 3D but, as far as I know, the 3D model is the only one that offers HDMI pass through which is important to me.  What I'm trying to understand is whether it would, in theory, offer an upgrade for 2 channel and AV.  

You are right that the 3D board is the only way to get "pass through"..............and imo you will get a big upgrade for 2 channel and a decent upgrade for AV.....It's just that I just feel uncomfortable telling someone else what they will think.

"We should no more let numbers define audio quality than we should let chemical analysis be the arbiter of fine wines."  Nelson Pass

Anonymous
Anonymous's picture
RE: Arcam AVR600 old vs new

I had a Yamaha 3067 on home demo (which should sound better than a Z7 - better DACs etc) - and an Arcam AVR500 - and the Arcam AVR500 for my system sounded a lot better.  Effortless presentation, real power, it was the best my system had ever sounded.  Sort of to be expected given the relative costs of the 2 AV receivers - so a AVR600 should sound special

 

with the AVR500 I felt I could crank up and up the volume and the fidelty and dyanmics were still there - as I said - it sounded effortless (this was driving a full 7.1 system with front 3 @ 6 ohms)

 

unforutnately my AVR500 - an ex-dem had a number of issues, and I had to return it.  I wasn't happy with the sound of the 3067 in my system, and in the end reverted back to my old Pioneer AX10Ai - which sounds almost as good as the Arcam

HD Elvis's picture
Offline
Last seen: 1 year 1 week ago
Joined: 09/01/2009 - 21:29
Posts: 64
RE: Arcam AVR600 old vs new

What speakers were you driving using the AVR500?

Pages

Log in or register to post comments