10 posts / 0 new
Last post
mark23's picture
Offline
Last seen: 1 year 3 months ago
Joined: 31/01/2013 - 10:44
Posts: 8
Rega RP1 and Cambridge Audio 640A
English

Hello Fello Music Lovers,

I have recently received a Rega RP1 as a gift due to the large record collection gathering dust in my loft. I have tried plugging it into the phono of my Cambridge Audio 640A amp and have been met with silence. The TT has the performance pack fitted and I would appreciate any advice on where i am going wrong. 

Thanks in advance to any fellow music lovers who can offer some advice

Mark.

matthewpiano's picture
Offline
Last seen: 2 days 23 hours ago
Joined: 23/11/2007 - 22:23
Posts: 8320
RE: Rega RP1 and Cambridge Audio 640A

The Cambridge 640A does not have a phono stage built in so you can't connect your Rega directly to it.  You need to get a phono pre-amp to go between the turntable and one of the line level inputs on your amp.  The Cambridge Audio ones are pretty good - see if you can find a second hand 640P.  Alternatively the NAD PP2 is very good as well.

Rega RP3/Elys 2 - Graham Slee Gram Amp 1 - Rega Apollo R - Exposure 1010 amp - Dynaudio DM2/6 - Chord Co. Chameleon VEE3/Rumour 2 - Musical Fidelity V90-HPA - Sennheiser HD595

mark23's picture
Offline
Last seen: 1 year 3 months ago
Joined: 31/01/2013 - 10:44
Posts: 8
RE: Rega RP1 and Cambridge Audio 640A

Thanks Matthew,

I read that it is best not to use the phono input for a phono pre-amp. Do yo have any advice which channel to use on my 640A

Mark.

HDNumpty's picture
Offline
Last seen: 3 weeks 6 days ago
Joined: 17/01/2008 - 23:27
Posts: 257
RE: Rega RP1 and Cambridge Audio 640A

The 'Phono' label on the input is simply to aid identification - connect the RP1 to a phono stage, then the phono stage to the 'phono' rca inputs on the amp.

mark23's picture
Offline
Last seen: 1 year 3 months ago
Joined: 31/01/2013 - 10:44
Posts: 8
RE: Rega RP1 and Cambridge Audio 640A

Thanks Numpty,

Quite daunting coming on here as i know next to nothing about setting up a turntable. Have been playing cd's for years but i'm chuffed to have a new turntable and want to set it up to the best standard possible.

Mark

matthewpiano's picture
Offline
Last seen: 2 days 23 hours ago
Joined: 23/11/2007 - 22:23
Posts: 8320
RE: Rega RP1 and Cambridge Audio 640A

The RP1 is a great turntable, especially with the performance pack.  Get yourself a decent phono stage and you'll be enjoying great sound in no time.

Rega RP3/Elys 2 - Graham Slee Gram Amp 1 - Rega Apollo R - Exposure 1010 amp - Dynaudio DM2/6 - Chord Co. Chameleon VEE3/Rumour 2 - Musical Fidelity V90-HPA - Sennheiser HD595

mark23's picture
Offline
Last seen: 1 year 3 months ago
Joined: 31/01/2013 - 10:44
Posts: 8
RE: Rega RP1 and Cambridge Audio 640A

Thanks again Matthew,

Will let you know how i get on. Thanks for taking the time to pass on your knowledge. Appreciate it.

Mark.

Ketan Bharadia's picture
Offline
Last seen: 2 weeks 2 days ago
Joined: 07/06/2007 - 14:20
Posts: 230
RE: Rega RP1 and Cambridge Audio 640A

Rega's Fono Mini A2D (£85) is a really good phono stage too.

mark23's picture
Offline
Last seen: 1 year 3 months ago
Joined: 31/01/2013 - 10:44
Posts: 8
RE: Rega RP1 and Cambridge Audio 640A

Thanks Ketan,

Having read the review in What Hi-Fi i have ordered the Rega pre phono. Hopefully this will help,

Mark.

mark23's picture
Offline
Last seen: 1 year 3 months ago
Joined: 31/01/2013 - 10:44
Posts: 8
RE: Rega RP1 and Cambridge Audio 640A

Rega's Fono Mini A2D is now wired up and my turntable is sounding sweet as a nut. In fact much better than i anticipated. Very happy.

Thanks for the advice everyone

Mark.

Log in or register to post comments