5 posts / 0 new
Last post
Drummerdave's picture
Offline
Last seen: 3 months 1 week ago
Joined: 04/12/2007 - 14:40
Posts: 732
BT MCU5A/125 - to BT or not to BT

Bout ye guys...

At the moment I have my CDP, Amp, DAC and Airport Express plugged into a QED Qonduit four-way mains hub. These days the CDP doesn't get used that much, I mainly use Spotify streamed via iphone/ipad.

I was recently given a BT MCU5A/125 mains conditioner and was wondering where the best place to try it out is? Do I plug it into the wall socket and then plug the Qonduit hub into it or it there a better way to connect?

I can only find limited info on the interent with one reviewer saying that it can have good results but only if it used elsewhere in the house, away from the hifi.

Your comments / recommendations would be much appreciated.

Thanks. D

Drummerdave's picture
Offline
Last seen: 3 months 1 week ago
Joined: 04/12/2007 - 14:40
Posts: 732
RE: BT MCU5A/125 - to BT or not to BT

Anyone?

margetti's picture
Offline
Last seen: 1 day 19 hours ago
Joined: 29/05/2008 - 18:58
Posts: 1059
RE: BT MCU5A/125 - to BT or not to BT

I use one of these plus a 5A/500 and have always plugged them directly into the wall. Seem to work best with low current demands - so CDP, DAC, etc. Have noticed they appear to constrain the amp somewhat, so wouldn't recommend using it with that.

 

Hope that helps.

Superaintit's picture
Offline
Last seen: 1 week 6 days ago
Joined: 08/02/2009 - 01:11
Posts: 284
RE: BT MCU5A/125 - to BT or not to BT

Hi Dave,

 

As I have a BT MCU5A/250 (2 sockets) mains conditioner, I'll share some of my observations.

It's plugged straight into the wall socket. I've found out that it works best with the tv and with a cd-player, blu-rayer. IME especially the tv , a Samsung 40UE4600 benefits from it . CD-player to a certain degree, but less so than picture. Anyway, I plugged a mains block in 1 of the sockets bc I needed at least 3 sockets; so far after 2,5 years no issues (or further benefits). Just make sure you don't overload it.

Kind regards,

Mark

 

Drummerdave's picture
Offline
Last seen: 3 months 1 week ago
Joined: 04/12/2007 - 14:40
Posts: 732
RE: BT MCU5A/125 - to BT or not to BT

Thanks guys, I'll try it with my TV and CDP and definitely keep it away from my amp.

Log in or register to post comments