Have your say & ask the experts!

How do you fit all your kit on your rack?

7 replies [Last post]
bot bot's picture
Offline
Joined: 9 Dec 2007
Posts: 158

How do you fit all your kit on your rack?I`ve got an Optimum rack with 5 glass shelves,cost me £450,it was okay when I bought it,I had an amp and cd player,now my system has expanded a little,I have my Arcam amp connected to Yamaha dspe800 for surround,Marantz cd63 11ki signature,still the business in my opinion,Toshiba multi region dvd player for my region 1`s,Toshiba HDDVD player,Sony cd recorder,now I`m getting a Sharp blu-ray player too,won`t get anything else on there.Behind it must be about 20 miles of different cables,looks like spaghetti junction.Even more fun is trying to clean the bloody stuff,takes all day.Any one else got this trouble?

nads's picture
Offline
Joined: 29 Nov 2007
Posts: 3203
Re: How do you fit all your kit on your rack?

I know the feeling. i am having to have a full change around what with the new TV on the way.

__________________

Not a HiFi Nut. Just has a pile of Nads.

richardjlarby's picture
Offline
Joined: 19 Jul 2007
Posts: 534
Re: How do you fit all your kit on your rack?

Definately. I cant get my rack within a few inches of my wall due to cables behind it. And have got rid of a few bits of kit I rarely use. I have moved my Virgin box under my rack, I just pray to god it doesnt go wrong. Cos it aint coming out from under there without the whole lot moving.

Gyp
Gyp's picture
Offline
Joined: 17 Dec 2007
Posts: 83
Re: How do you fit all your kit on your rack?

Erm... 2 Target 5-shelf racks, with the amp&pre sharing, the AV-control centre and Sky sharing and the DVD recorder sharing with the slingbox.

The telly's on it's own stand that I custom-made to allow it to sit back into the fireplace.

And that's all at the same end of the room as 4 Kef floorstanders, a centre and a sub. And the playstation.

Oh, and a mirror to "make the room look bigger" Smile

__________________

Marantz CD10, Harman Kardon TU9400, Rotel RHC-10/RHB-10, Kef 105/3

Raspberry Pi (Raspyfi) plus Rega DAC

Samsung Note, Sennheiser Momentum

Gwyndy's picture
Offline
Joined: 20 Jul 2007
Posts: 322
Re: How do you fit all your kit on your rack?

Alphason "New Concept" 7 shelf rack, everything is either on there or my TV stand -forget the make, cabling is a nightmare as my Minisub and Substation are both on the TV stand, all my mains cables and the interconnects for DVR-150 and DVD player have to travel from the TV stand to the Rack, plus all the interconnects between the components on the rack, and at some point I have to change 3 mains leads and an interconnect-I'm dreading it, the last time I reorganised my rack it took some three hours and I had no sound from the DVD player.

hifi_nut's picture
Offline
Joined: 20 Sep 2007
Posts: 447
Re: How do you fit all your kit on your rack?

I sometimes wonder 'how do you fit your rack in your kit'! nuff said

R

nads's picture
Offline
Joined: 29 Nov 2007
Posts: 3203
Re: How do you fit all your kit on your rack?

Well new racks are here and i have sound....... Where is the TV?

__________________

Not a HiFi Nut. Just has a pile of Nads.

jimwall's picture
Offline
Joined: 26 Sep 2007
Posts: 362
Re: How do you fit all your kit on your rack?

It stacks and squeezes and creaks and groans and the second hand DSP A1 is too big in all dimensions and is currently acting as the surround amp for the PC. Which is both hideously gross and kind of cool. I think.