12 posts / 0 new
Last post
stevenjonas's picture
Offline
Last seen: 3 months 5 days ago
Joined: 21/04/2011 - 13:50
Posts: 86
Synology DS213j - Setting Up
English

I feel a bit of an idiot!

I've loaded the 2 hard drives, connected the unit to my network, switched the unit on & accessed the findmysynology web site to download the latest software. So far so good.

At an early stage it asked me for a user name & whether I wanted to use a password. I typed in the user name, declined the use of a password & moved on.

All was going swimmingly until it asked me for my user name again. I've forgotten it. I've tried all my usual user names without success.

How can I identify what my user name is? :wall:

stevenjonas's picture
Offline
Last seen: 3 months 5 days ago
Joined: 21/04/2011 - 13:50
Posts: 86
RE: Synology DS213j - Setting Up

There's been a development. Going in to Synology Assistant, which I have also downloaded, it gives the name of my server as DiskStation. But when I insert this in to the space for my user name & try to continue, it won't let me.

Hi-FiOutlaw's picture
Offline
Last seen: 3 weeks 20 hours ago
Joined: 20/04/2011 - 23:03
Posts: 2405
RE: Synology DS213j - Setting Up

The best way is to let the user as defult "admin" and just add a pass word.

now, you have a little reset botton on the back of the diskstation just press it for a few seconds and will reset your user and password, and you can get in the NAS again just as "admin" and with no password, and just restart your cofiguration. 

Rega RP6/Goldring Elite>Clearaudio Basic Plus

Synology NAS>Rega DAC>Pathos Classic One MKIII>Dynaudio Excite X12

stevenjonas's picture
Offline
Last seen: 3 months 5 days ago
Joined: 21/04/2011 - 13:50
Posts: 86
RE: Synology DS213j - Setting Up

You're a star. many thanks. That's taken me to a whole load of options that are somwhat above me. But here goes.

Hi-FiOutlaw's picture
Offline
Last seen: 3 weeks 20 hours ago
Joined: 20/04/2011 - 23:03
Posts: 2405
RE: Synology DS213j - Setting Up

How is it going? 

Don't forget to use the "quick start" program in the NAS, it will help you with some basic setting but also with some more complex ones.

Rega RP6/Goldring Elite>Clearaudio Basic Plus

Synology NAS>Rega DAC>Pathos Classic One MKIII>Dynaudio Excite X12

stevenjonas's picture
Offline
Last seen: 3 months 5 days ago
Joined: 21/04/2011 - 13:50
Posts: 86
RE: Synology DS213j - Setting Up

Many thanks for your help. I seem to be connected. The next stage is to rip a CD on to it. Is it possible to create a 'classical music' folder a 'pop misic folder', a 'jazz' folder, etc? And is there any point?

Hi-FiOutlaw's picture
Offline
Last seen: 3 weeks 20 hours ago
Joined: 20/04/2011 - 23:03
Posts: 2405
RE: Synology DS213j - Setting Up

You can imagine what you can do with that wonderful machine, but you will in a few month! :grin:

you can do everything that you described abouve.

Mine is organise by folders that i created:

 

Photobucket Pictures, Images and Photos

"Classica + filmes" means Classic + movies (sound tracks)

"Meninos" is children my sons folder

"Natal" is christmas albums

"Tudo" is everything else... 

 

Photobucket Pictures, Images and Photos

 

This are fotos from the DS Audio App in my ipad.

Rega RP6/Goldring Elite>Clearaudio Basic Plus

Synology NAS>Rega DAC>Pathos Classic One MKIII>Dynaudio Excite X12

stevenjonas's picture
Offline
Last seen: 3 months 5 days ago
Joined: 21/04/2011 - 13:50
Posts: 86
RE: Synology DS213j - Setting Up

Very helpful. Many thanks.

I'm wading through the instruction manual. I'v got as far as chapter 8.

I thought that I would also try to rip a CD losslesly & directly to my new Synology device.

When I try to do so, my computer claims not to recognise the diskstation, even though it's clearly shown on the network list.

Is this something that I need to be doing through my Synology DSM 4.3 page?

Hi-FiOutlaw's picture
Offline
Last seen: 3 weeks 20 hours ago
Joined: 20/04/2011 - 23:03
Posts: 2405
RE: Synology DS213j - Setting Up

Can't help there, never try it before.

always rip in pc with db power amp, no compression, organize folder in pc and send it to NAS. 

Rega RP6/Goldring Elite>Clearaudio Basic Plus

Synology NAS>Rega DAC>Pathos Classic One MKIII>Dynaudio Excite X12

stevenjonas's picture
Offline
Last seen: 3 months 5 days ago
Joined: 21/04/2011 - 13:50
Posts: 86
RE: Synology DS213j - Setting Up

Suppose I do as you say. How do you send it to the NAS?

Hi-FiOutlaw's picture
Offline
Last seen: 3 weeks 20 hours ago
Joined: 20/04/2011 - 23:03
Posts: 2405
RE: Synology DS213j - Setting Up

I open a page in internet explorer of synology home page, open "file station" and if you have Java running in your PC you should be able to see you PC folder.

Rega RP6/Goldring Elite>Clearaudio Basic Plus

Synology NAS>Rega DAC>Pathos Classic One MKIII>Dynaudio Excite X12

stevenjonas's picture
Offline
Last seen: 3 months 5 days ago
Joined: 21/04/2011 - 13:50
Posts: 86
RE: Synology DS213j - Setting Up

Yes, thanks, I've done that.

It seems to me that if I follow the instructions in chapter 9 of the user manual, of maping the drive, then I should be able to copy directly from the CD.

The trouble is that I'm having difficulties doing this either way suggested.

I've also ripped a CD in to my Pop Music folder but the Audio Station couldn't see it, even though it was clearly there in the File Station. The Audio Station would only see the album when I copied it accross to the default Music folder.

What am I doing wrong now?

You are correct when you said earlier that the more I use this bit of kit the more amazed I'll be.

Log in or register to post comments