Have your say & ask the experts!

Synology DS212j > Rega DAC using iOS control app

25 replies [Last post]
stevebrock's picture

A few questions as I am new to this. Thanks

I want a Synology DS212j that will be hardwired to my Rega DAC via USB. 

I have a MacBook Pro that I will use to rip in ALAC but will set up my destination iTunes folder to be on the NAS so in effect I wont have any music on my MBP.

Can anyone see any problems with this?

Obviously I will have to use the Synology app when using my DAC or can I use the iOS remote app?

Can I still use iTunes via my MBP?

Sorry but I am new to all this!

Thanks

Icon Audio ST40 III / KT88, Rega Apollo R, DAC, RS3

Rega RP6, Nagaoka MP-200, White Belt, Michell Tecnoweight, Rega Fono MM

Rega Quattro, Couple 1 & 2

bigboss's picture
RE: Synology DS212j > Rega DAC using iOS control app

stevebrock wrote:

No, as long as you have another backup of your music, so you,don't lose everything if the hard drive on our NAS crashes.

Quote:

Obviously I will have to use the Synology app when using my DAC or can I use the iOS remote app?

I don't know. Maybe someone else will come along and help you with this.

Quote:

Yes, you can still play the songs in your MBP via iTunes.

My Home Cinema  Pioneer KRP 500A, Yamaha RX-V1900, MA Radius R225HD LCR, R90HD rears, AW12 sub, Panasonic BD60, PS3, Boxee Box, Sky HD, Boxee Box, Logitech Harmony One, Logitech PS3 Adapter, Sonos ZP90

Bedroom Samsung UE32C6510, PS3 slim white, Apple TV, Sonos S5, Sonos ZP90, Audioengine 2, Oppo OPDV971H

Miscellaneous: Synology DS212J + 2 X WD Red 2TB drives, WD 1TB NAS, Sonos ZoneBridge, BT HH3 as modem & AirPort Extreme router

stevebrock's picture

Thanks for that, I have been reading some of your threads!

Logical step would be to use the DS Audio app on my iPhone - Does app have a good interface/easy to use/intuitive?

Thanks for you help

I plan to use 2 x 2TB

Lastly will the Synology output ALAC files through the USB?

bigboss's picture