11 posts / 0 new
Last post
admin's picture
Offline
Last seen: 9 hours 17 min ago
Joined: 04/09/2013 - 14:19
Posts: 51601
HELP SONY S 370 Bluray Problem
English

It's just been 1 hour since i came back from comet with my brand new sony 370 bluray player which i purchased after reading the review in What Hifi. I want it  to replace my old fat PS 3. I've set everything up correctly and sat down with Avatar excitedly looking for the magical blue glow from my DA 2400 receiver to tell me it's picking up The DTS HD track and what do i get.... NOTHING, just 2 channel. I've been through the setup time and time again and all I get is stereo !!!! So i connected my PS 3 again and the receiver picks up multi channel pcm. So am i right in thinking the bluray player is not working correctly ?  HELP ANYONE.

bigboss's picture
Offline
Last seen: 3 hours 6 min ago
Joined: 25/03/2009 - 21:40
Posts: 13223
Re: HELP SONY S 370 Bluray Problem

That's strange. Have you checked the audio settings on your S370 (not the blu-ray disc menu)?

Anonymous
Anonymous's picture
Re: HELP SONY S 370 Bluray Problem

Yes. I've been through the manual. Audio HDMI set to auto not pcm and it says BD audio mix set to off to output HD audio to an amp which i've done. Also when i press the display button it says DTS HD MA 5.1 so it's like it isn't sending it to my receiver. only stereo.

kevinJ's picture
Offline
Last seen: 2 months 1 day ago
Joined: 02/11/2008 - 13:56
Posts: 367
Re: HELP SONY S 370 Bluray Problem

Have you checked with a dvd? I also have the 370(but no blu-ray's yet), and it outputs 5.1 to my receiver.

Sorreltiger's picture
Offline
Last seen: 1 day 2 hours ago
Joined: 22/04/2008 - 22:11
Posts: 954
Re: HELP SONY S 370 Bluray Problem

In the Audio settings:

 BD Audio Mix setting = Off

I think this could be the problem - it used to be "direct"/"secondary" and caused frequent consternation! 

Anonymous
Anonymous's picture
Re: HELP SONY S 370 Bluray Problem

That's what I tried but i still got only stereo. Anyway took it back to Comet today and explained it to them who didn't seem convinced. They didn't have anymore in stock until next week so i got my money back. Gonna go to Richer sounds instead now but i'm still no wiser as to the cause of the problem.

d4v3pum4's picture
Offline
Last seen: 1 year 4 months ago
Joined: 15/11/2008 - 03:09
Posts: 1144
Re: HELP SONY S 370 Bluray Problem

It's a pity that the OP didn't actually list the settings employed on the player so that someone could check them as I'll bet there wasn't anything wrong with the player.  It is usually one menu setting that is the difference between success and failure when wishing to bitstream HD audio. 

Cookie Monster's picture
Offline
Last seen: 1 year 2 weeks ago
Joined: 25/01/2010 - 19:55
Posts: 376
Re: HELP SONY S 370 Bluray Problem

Hi Andy,


NOOOOooooo! Shame you returned it.


 I have a SonySTR-DN1000 and had exactly the same problem. Guessing it is a similar Sony OS. The problem in the main menu is under 'i think' HDMI - then Audio Settings - then you get the choice off 'Amp' or 'Amp and TV'. You will find that you are trying to send the sound to the TV and Amp together. Because you're TV cannot accept a DTS-HD signal the reciever converts all audio to stereo PCM. Just set the audio setting to 'AMP' ONLY and bet it works. It'll be in the menus somewhere.


If you have downloaded the latest update for the PS3 you should be able to output the PS3 HD sound via HDMI as 'bitstream' and try the above yourself. If all works and you see DTS-HD of Dolby True HD on the amp then you know everything is working as it should.You can then be safe in the knowledge that everything is ready for you're next purchase.


Please let me know if it works.


Kind Regards,


Cookie Monster

Anonymous
Anonymous's picture
Re: HELP SONY S 370 Bluray Problem

Thanks cookie monster. I'll try the bitstream from ps3 and i'm going to Richer sounds at the weekend to get  the 370 again and i'll try that. I've always had the receiver set to tv+amp to watch tv but have always got multi channel sound when i use my ps3 to watch movies. I'll let you know what happens.

kevinJ's picture
Offline
Last seen: 2 months 1 day ago
Joined: 02/11/2008 - 13:56
Posts: 367
Re: HELP SONY S 370 Bluray Problem

I guess I figured out why the s370 didn't send dts ma to the receiver. In the audiomenu, there are two options that will change the audio that is being sent to the receiver.


first one is "BD audio MIX settings". That one should be turned off.
and then there is "audio DRC". That should be switched to "broadband". Mine was set to "auto", and my receiver said is was receiving "multi channel audio" instead of dts master audio on Avatar.


Check those two, and you'll get the audio the way it should be.

Anonymous
Anonymous's picture
Re: HELP SONY S 370 Bluray Problem

This is similar to the problem I'm getting that I posted here...


http://community.whathifi.com/forums/t/432639.aspx


I have BD audio MIX settings set to off.


The only choices under "audio DRC" are auto, standard and wide range and none of them affect anything.


I can't see any option to choose "AMP ONLY", I've been through all the options about 5 times and it's driving me insane. It won't give me multi channel PCM from the BD player and it won't give me HD sound from the amp.


GRRRRRRRRRR!!!! Crying 


Edit - I've just realised the AMP ONLY setting is on the amp and not the BD player, there is something similar on the onkyo and it is definitely off, no sound being passed to the TV. But still not working.


 


 

Log in or register to post comments