33 posts / 0 new
Last post
Cypher's picture
Offline
Last seen: 2 weeks 1 day ago
Joined: 08/06/2007 - 06:45
Posts: 1424
RE: Yamaha RN500 discuss!

I just hope this thing sounds better than the A-S500 amp. That amp was almost unlistenable for me.

mitch65's picture
Offline
Last seen: 1 day 20 hours ago
Joined: 16/12/2003 - 12:50
Posts: 1159
RE: Yamaha RN500 discuss!

If you believe the marketing blurb then it's effectively an S500 with the network capabilities, having not heard the S500 I couldn't tell you if this is true or not.

Leeps's picture
Offline
Last seen: 1 day 5 hours ago
Joined: 10/12/2012 - 18:43
Posts: 343
RE: Yamaha RN500 discuss!

I notice that according to the Yamaha website (UK), that it states, "Spotify Connect is already available on 2013 released Yamaha stereo receiver and micro component system via a firmware update."

Are any R-N500 owners able to confirm this? 

The way I read the news release (dated 14.4.14) was that Spotify Connect would be rolled out to other products in the Spring, but that, as per the statement above, it could already be accessed via the latest firmware update on the stereo receiver and micro systems.

The website adds, "Yamaha stereo receiver and micro component system owners (see complete list below) that have a Spotify Premium account can now enjoy instant access to millions of songs in high-quality on their Yamaha HiFi system...

Spotify Connect compatible models*:

Stereo Receiver: R-N500
Micro Component System: MCR-N560 / MCR-N560D

*Firmware update is required to enable Spotify Connect."

 

Bluray:Pioneer BDP-450;TV: Panasonic TX-P42G30B;AV Receiver:Pioneer VSX-2021; Speakers:MA Radius R270HD/R250HD/R90HD/R370HD; Spotify&Tidal>Airplay

mitch65's picture
Offline
Last seen: 1 day 20 hours ago
Joined: 16/12/2003 - 12:50
Posts: 1159
RE: Yamaha RN500 discuss!

The 2013 Receivers that Yamaha are talking about does not include the R-NS500, the firmware update for this is due sometime soon but no actual date is given yet. I've tried updating mine but no new updates.

csq2's picture
Offline
Last seen: 7 months 3 weeks ago
Joined: 28/03/2010 - 20:07
Posts: 236
RE: Yamaha RN500 discuss!

Features wise, the Yamaha has everything you dreamed of. Sound quality wise, the Marantz PM6005 is much better. The Yamaha will sound flat, muffled compared to the crystal clear sound of the Marantz.

tommie_boi's picture
Offline
Last seen: 2 months 6 days ago
Joined: 05/03/2010 - 19:30
Posts: 23
RE: Yamaha RN500 discuss!

I have spoken to Yamaha rep in Bristol during the WHF show. He said the receivers got the Spotify Connect in the first place simply because they sell well, in the end it is all about the money. So even though R-N 500 is mostly dedicated to music, unlike receivers, we simply have to wait. 

Leeps's picture
Offline
Last seen: 1 day 5 hours ago
Joined: 10/12/2012 - 18:43
Posts: 343
RE: Yamaha RN500 discuss!

tommie_boi wrote:

I have spoken to Yamaha rep in Bristol during the WHF show. He said the receivers got the Spotify Connect in the first place simply because they sell well, in the end it is all about the money. So even though R-N 500 is mostly dedicated to music, unlike receivers, we simply have to wait. 

That's a bit chicken and egg though isn't it?

Haven't manufacturers figured out the reason things might not sell well is because they don't have the features people want?

Is it accidental that the Marantz MCR610 is such a good seller?

Currently the only ways to get Spotify through your home stereo system are;

Mac mini (very expensive if you only really want Spotify)

Sonos Connect - not too expensive, but debatable sound quality and if you want to stream hi-res too, you'll need ANOTHER box anyway

Airplay - works for me ok, but not for everyone depending on their network.  Does eat up your ipad battery too (as does Bluetooth)

So if more stereo products had Spotify included (how about the Pioneer N50 for example - a "one-box" bolt-on streaming solution that lacks Spotify so you have to buy an extra box (or use Airplay)), then people might buy them in larger numbers.  How many million people have Spotify accounts and would like to listen to their playlists through their hifi but don't want to buy 5.1 AV receivers?

There must be a huge gap in the market here.

Bluray:Pioneer BDP-450;TV: Panasonic TX-P42G30B;AV Receiver:Pioneer VSX-2021; Speakers:MA Radius R270HD/R250HD/R90HD/R370HD; Spotify&Tidal>Airplay

mitch65's picture
Offline
Last seen: 1 day 20 hours ago
Joined: 16/12/2003 - 12:50
Posts: 1159
RE: Yamaha RN500 discuss!

Spotify firmware update now available..finally! :grin:

dancapp's picture
Offline
Last seen: 6 months 3 weeks ago
Joined: 28/05/2014 - 16:03
Posts: 3
RE: Yamaha RN500 discuss!

The R-N500 is great but lacks one vital feature (thus far) - gapless playback. Without this a network player is no substitute for a good old-fashioned CD collection.

Riksta73's picture
Offline
Last seen: 6 months 1 week ago
Joined: 27/05/2014 - 12:54
Posts: 7
RE: Yamaha RN500 discuss!

Is wired networking and digital input worth £250 as you can get the AS500 for £199? 

mitch65's picture
Offline
Last seen: 1 day 20 hours ago
Joined: 16/12/2003 - 12:50
Posts: 1159
RE: Yamaha RN500 discuss!

Riksta73 wrote:

Is wired networking and digital input worth £250 as you can get the AS500 for £199? 

 

Depends I guess, I only paid £350.00 and, even without gapless, I'm happy. There are deals to be had online to lesson that gap, I'm not holding my breath for gapless anytime soon so my Mike Oldfield stuff will remain a 'cd only' choice for the timebeing. :rockout:

Timot's picture
Offline
Last seen: 2 months 1 week ago
Joined: 08/10/2014 - 11:01
Posts: 1
Airplay problems

Just got this amp one month ago. I use it only with airplay. One problem I have though is that sometimes no sound is comming out of my speakers (amp is displaying the music on screen)... Although I shut it down and on again and have the latest firmwire it just won't work. And the day after it's working again... Is there any solution to this ?

Thanks

Zappa Doc's picture
Offline
Last seen: 1 month 1 week ago
Joined: 10/11/2014 - 09:45
Posts: 2
No sound issue with firmware 1.07 and 1.09...

Timot wrote:

Just got this amp one month ago. I use it only with airplay. One problem I have though is that sometimes no sound is comming out of my speakers (amp is displaying the music on screen)... Although I shut it down and on again and have the latest firmwire it just won't work. And the day after it's working again... Is there any solution to this ?

Thanks

 

big issue here with my r-n500. almost the same symptome i.e. no sound on speakers but in almost all input mode, NET (including net-radio and server), Optical, USB, only tuner and CD continue to work... if I enter the Advanced Setup and Init ALL (reset the amp) everything work as expected until the firmware bug again... very frustrating as it's a new amp (bought 2 days ago) and when it works the sound is amazing... I do not know what to do...

For example:

- I have an onkyo CD player so I connected it to the CD input and it works, then I connected it to the Optical 1 input as it provides an Optical out but this time no sound... Sad

if I check the signal (option > signal info) I get PCM/44.1/2 ch. so the signal is recognized but no sound until I reset the amp or power off/on several times...

- the same, using the NET Radio or my Audio server (DLNA), everything work as expected until the bug occurs... intit/ALL reset the amp and then this works again...

This is really weird...cause after googleling the issue, I didn't find any entry, no one seems to have this problem... is there a way to contact the yamaha assistance...

davedotco's picture
Online
Last seen: 5 hours 9 min ago
Joined: 24/04/2013 - 10:02
Posts: 3975
Zappa Doc wrote:

Zappa Doc wrote:

Timot wrote:

Just got this amp one month ago. I use it only with airplay. One problem I have though is that sometimes no sound is comming out of my speakers (amp is displaying the music on screen)... Although I shut it down and on again and have the latest firmwire it just won't work. And the day after it's working again... Is there any solution to this ?

Thanks

 

big issue here with my r-n500. almost the same symptome i.e. no sound on speakers but in almost all input mode, NET (including net-radio and server), Optical, USB, only tuner and CD continue to work... if I enter the Advanced Setup and Init ALL (reset the amp) everything work as expected until the firmware bug again... very frustrating as it's a new amp (bought 2 days ago) and when it works the sound is amazing... I do not know what to do...

For example:

- I have an onkyo CD player so I connected it to the CD input and it works, then I connected it to the Optical 1 input as it provides an Optical out but this time no sound... Sad

if I check the signal (option > signal info) I get PCM/44.1/2 ch. so the signal is recognized but no sound until I reset the amp or power off/on several times...

- the same, using the NET Radio or my Audio server (DLNA), everything work as expected until the bug occurs... intit/ALL reset the amp and then this works again...

This is really weird...cause after googleling the issue, I didn't find any entry, no one seems to have this problem... is there a way to contact the yamaha assistance...

If the amp is brand new and faulty, be it hardware, firmware or software, take it back and ask for one that works.

You should not have to put up with this if your diagnoses is correct.

Zappa Doc's picture
Offline
Last seen: 1 month 1 week ago
Joined: 10/11/2014 - 09:45
Posts: 2
Thanks for the reply, the

Thanks for the reply, the second one have the same issue, I strongly suggest to not update your firmware if you are happy with your rn500...

I taken a Pioneer VSX-824K HC amp which have the same NET/USB features (needed for this room) but obviously, the sound is really not bad but not comparable to the yamaha...

All NET / USB features work like a charm and this is the most important for me...

davedotco wrote:

Zappa Doc wrote:

Timot wrote:

Just got this amp one month ago. I use it only with airplay. One problem I have though is that sometimes no sound is comming out of my speakers (amp is displaying the music on screen)... Although I shut it down and on again and have the latest firmwire it just won't work. And the day after it's working again... Is there any solution to this ?

Thanks

 

big issue here with my r-n500. almost the same symptome i.e. no sound on speakers but in almost all input mode, NET (including net-radio and server), Optical, USB, only tuner and CD continue to work... if I enter the Advanced Setup and Init ALL (reset the amp) everything work as expected until the firmware bug again... very frustrating as it's a new amp (bought 2 days ago) and when it works the sound is amazing... I do not know what to do...

For example:

- I have an onkyo CD player so I connected it to the CD input and it works, then I connected it to the Optical 1 input as it provides an Optical out but this time no sound... Sad

if I check the signal (option > signal info) I get PCM/44.1/2 ch. so the signal is recognized but no sound until I reset the amp or power off/on several times...

- the same, using the NET Radio or my Audio server (DLNA), everything work as expected until the bug occurs... intit/ALL reset the amp and then this works again...

This is really weird...cause after googleling the issue, I didn't find any entry, no one seems to have this problem... is there a way to contact the yamaha assistance...

If the amp is brand new and faulty, be it hardware, firmware or software, take it back and ask for one that works.

You should not have to put up with this if your diagnoses is correct.

Pages

Log in or register to post comments