Have your say & ask the experts!

Speaker's cable for Monitor Audio RS8's with NAD C370

16 replies [Last post]
cobra11's picture

Hi all,

I'm looking to upgrade the speaker's cable for my Monitor Audio RS8's powered by a NAD C370 integrated amplifier,  without going too crazy in prizes. The room where I have my hifi is 3,5m x 3,5m, the cable I have at moment is a decent cable bought from Sevenoaks store few years ago but I can't remember the brand, nothing amazing anyway. Do you guys think is a good choice the Chord Rumour 2 or is worth spending the extra money for the Odissey 2? Also with these cables the speakers don't need to be bi-wired? I'm not an expert in electronic, I'm just looking for the best sound for my hears.

Many thanks 

plastic penguin's picture
Hi and welcome. I use the

Hi and welcome.

I use the Chord SilverScreen cable and is fabulously balanced. I would, also, stick with single wire.

Hope this helps... 

Amp: Leema Pulse; Source: Naim CD5i-2, Denon 260MKII, Pro-ject XP I; Speakers: PMC TB2i

Formerly known as plastic penguin

kev g's picture
RE: Speaker's cable for Monitor Audio RS8's with NAD C370

Before my current Chord cable, the Odyssey 2, I had the Rumour 4. The immediate differences for me, was that the Odyssey places the instruments & singers better within the whole soundstage. The drums, particularly the snare had more snap & attack. The sound is more open, more musical. I picked up the Odyssey second hand & am very pleased with the upgrade. Both cables are very good.

Hi-Fi - Naim UnitiLite (FM/DAB), Neat Motive SE2*, Chord Odyssey 2*, Tacima CS929.

A / V Samsung 40F6740, Sony BDV-E370*, Humax Foxsat HDR*

* Second Hand

kevinJ's picture

I would stick to a pure copper speaker cable, because all silver plated copper cables I tried made my RX8's too bright.

kev g's picture

Pop along to your local hi fi shop & maybe they would let you try some for a home demo.