117 posts / 0 new
Last post
CnoEvil's picture
Offline
Last seen: 13 hours 37 min ago
Joined: 21/08/2009 - 18:01
Posts: 12400
RE: Entry level amps aren't capable to drive Proac Studio 110

BigColz wrote:
Any speakers you recommend around £1k mark? You obviously love your PMC'S do the bookshelves at that price match well? I obviously want a big sound punchy and full in the midrange with a not too bright top end and as much bass as possible (but still controlled)

I'm not Electro.....but have you heard the Kef R300 (with the right amp)   :read: .....imo. they are exactly that.

"We should no more let numbers define audio quality than we should let chemical analysis be the arbiter of fine wines."  Nelson Pass

BigColz's picture
Offline
Last seen: 1 year 4 months ago
Joined: 18/06/2012 - 14:57
Posts: 304
RE: Entry level amps aren't capable to drive Proac Studio 110

CnoEvil wrote:

BigColz wrote:
Any speakers you recommend around £1k mark? You obviously love your PMC'S do the bookshelves at that price match well? I obviously want a big sound punchy and full in the midrange with a not too bright top end and as much bass as possible (but still controlled)

I'm not Electro.....but have you heard the Kef R300 (with the right amp)   :read: .....imo. they are exactly that.

 Naa not heard them.. They were on my audition list but this dealer didnt stock them. Was gonna try ls50 but didn't bother tryin as they won't hit the low frequencies.. I've heard people say they almost sound like floorstanders which sounds ideal.. The wide speetspit sounds good too but heard the metallic sound of the uni q can make make voices sound kinda tinny? Obviously can't go on others opinions.. Proof is in pudding tho I guess   :cheers:

CnoEvil's picture
Offline
Last seen: 13 hours 37 min ago
Joined: 21/08/2009 - 18:01
Posts: 12400
RE: Entry level amps aren't capable to drive Proac Studio 110

BigColz wrote:

The wide speetspit sounds good too but heard the metallic sound of the uni q can make make voices sound kinda tinny? Obviously can't go on others opinions.. Proof is in pudding tho I guess   :cheers:

I owned the IQ, have the Reference and am familiar with the XQ......and imo. the R series sound quite different. I think they are a landmark range. I don't think the Q series are anywhere near the same league.

"We should no more let numbers define audio quality than we should let chemical analysis be the arbiter of fine wines."  Nelson Pass

Electro's picture
Offline
Last seen: 11 hours 36 min ago
Joined: 30/03/2011 - 11:34
Posts: 1269
RE: Entry level amps aren't capable to drive Proac Studio 110

BigColz wrote:
Any speakers you recommend around £1k mark? You obviously love your PMC'S do the bookshelves at that price match well? I obviously want a big sound punchy and full in the midrange with a not too bright top end and as much bass as possible (but still controlled)

Yes the smaller PMC's have all the qualities that you are after especially a large sound with much deeper and controlled bass that you would expect from a bookshelf speaker .

This new model from PMC might fit the bill and it is right on budget .

http://www.sevenoakssoundandvision.co.uk/p/pmc-db1-goldspeakersincludes-free-metropolis-cd-cleaning-cloth

I think that they only come in black but it should be exactly what you are looking for and an unbeatable speaker for the money .

If you prefer a different finish then the DB1i can be had for about £90 more in a range of finishes

 Or maybe a pair of second hand TB2i 's which will give more of the same especially bass depth and weight .

Any of these combined with an Electrocompaniet Pi2 or your Cyrus amps should give you all that you want and probably a whole lot more than you could ever imagine , a friend of mine uses a very old Cyrus pre / power  combo with PMCDB1i's and it sounds amazing , such a large sound from a very small system :grin:

The new PMC 20 series may not give you the bass depth and power that you want but are still worth a listen Smile

 Electrocompaniet EMC 1 UP , Monarchy Audio DIP, Electrocompaniet ECD 1 dac , EC4.8 preamp , 2x AW180 monoblock power amps , PMC PB1i speakers . Thousands of Cd's .

BigColz's picture
Offline
Last seen: 1 year 4 months ago
Joined: 18/06/2012 - 14:57
Posts: 304
RE: Entry level amps aren't capable to drive Proac Studio 110

Electro wrote:

BigColz wrote:
Any speakers you recommend around £1k mark? You obviously love your PMC'S do the bookshelves at that price match well? I obviously want a big sound punchy and full in the midrange with a not too bright top end and as much bass as possible (but still controlled)

Yes the smaller PMC's have all the qualities that you are after especially a large sound with much deeper and controlled bass that you would expect from a bookshelf speaker .

This new model from PMC might fit the bill and it is right on budget .

http://www.sevenoakssoundandvision.co.uk/p/pmc-db1-goldspeakersincludes-free-metropolis-cd-cleaning-cloth

I think that they only come in black but it should be exactly what you are looking for and an unbeatable speaker for the money .

If you prefer a different finish then the DB1i can be had for about £90 more in a range of finishes

 Or maybe a pair of second hand TB2i 's which will give more of the same especially bass depth and weight .

Any of these combined with an Electrocompaniet Pi2 or your Cyrus amps should give you all that you want and probably a whole lot more than you could ever imagine , a friend of mine uses a very old Cyrus pre / power  combo with PMCDB1i's and it sounds amazing , such a large sound from a very small system :grin:

The new PMC 20 series may not give you the bass depth and power that you want but are still worth a listen Smile

 

Thanks for the advise Electro. I quite like the look of the black ones.. To be honest the amp impressed me so much I may just sell mine and buy the one in the shop ex dem (£1300) when i take my streamer in for repair start of jan.. I should have around £500 spare to play with so will happily spend that on speakers. I'll see if I can get both those PMCs on dem at that shop and maybe the Kefs.. I'm certain I won't get the sound I want with the Cyrus as much as I appreciate how good it is. The thought of having a 'fit and forget' amp also makes me so happy as the temptation on the forever upgradable Cyrus path would be a hell for me.. Just start to enjoy the music, which is why is what it's all about after all?!  Dance 4 :rockout: :cheers: :grin:

BigColz's picture
Offline
Last seen: 1 year 4 months ago
Joined: 18/06/2012 - 14:57
Posts: 304
RE: Entry level amps aren't capable to drive Proac Studio 110

Cno and Electro a couple of (probably stupid) questions.. How would I run a sub off the PI 2 amp? It doesn't look like it has any outputs at all apart from the single speaker terminals.. Also is DIN outout on my Naim streamer a version of balanced and would it be worth connecting to the balanced input or just run normal RCA's? I thought I saw tape out when i looked at the back but I think it might be a nightmare fitting a sub now  :doh:

Electro's picture
Offline
Last seen: 11 hours 36 min ago
Joined: 30/03/2011 - 11:34
Posts: 1269
RE: Entry level amps aren't capable to drive Proac Studio 110

BigColz wrote:

Cno and Electro a couple of (probably stupid) questions.. How would I run a sub off the PI 2 amp? It doesn't look like it has any outputs at all apart from the single speaker terminals.. Also is DIN outout on my Naim streamer a version of balanced and would it be worth connecting to the balanced input or just run normal RCA's? I thought I saw tape out when i looked at the back but I think it might be a nightmare fitting a sub now  :doh:

There are many brands of Naim DIN to XLR interconnects , here is a good one .

http://markgrantcables.co.uk/shop/index.php?main_page=product_info&products_id=149

And another depending on what type you need .

http://compare.ebay.co.uk/like/380169854536?var=lv&ltyp=AllFixedPriceItemTypes&var=sbar&cbt=y

I am not an expert but I believe most subs can be connected from a high level output /input  using the speaker outputs of the amp , from memory I think this is the best way to connect a sub for music rather than using a low level rca connection but CNO is far more knowledgeable about HT and subs than me . Smile

 Electrocompaniet EMC 1 UP , Monarchy Audio DIP, Electrocompaniet ECD 1 dac , EC4.8 preamp , 2x AW180 monoblock power amps , PMC PB1i speakers . Thousands of Cd's .

BigColz's picture
Offline
Last seen: 1 year 4 months ago
Joined: 18/06/2012 - 14:57
Posts: 304
RE: Entry level amps aren't capable to drive Proac Studio 110

Electro wrote:

BigColz wrote:

Cno and Electro a couple of (probably stupid) questions.. How would I run a sub off the PI 2 amp? It doesn't look like it has any outputs at all apart from the single speaker terminals.. Also is DIN outout on my Naim streamer a version of balanced and would it be worth connecting to the balanced input or just run normal RCA's? I thought I saw tape out when i looked at the back but I think it might be a nightmare fitting a sub now  :doh:

There are many brands of Naim DIN to XLR interconnects , here is a good one .

http://markgrantcables.co.uk/shop/index.php?main_page=product_info&products_id=149

And another depending on what type you need .

http://compare.ebay.co.uk/like/380169854536?var=lv&ltyp=AllFixedPriceItemTypes&var=sbar&cbt=y

I am not an expert but I believe most subs can be connected from a high level output /input  using the speaker outputs of the amp , from memory I think this is the best way to connect a sub for music rather than using a low level rca connection but CNO is far more knowledgeable about HT and subs than me . Smile

 

Ok cool, cheers Electro. I'm not sure if splitting the signal would affect quality as they only have one set of speaker terminals.. I guess you could just fit spades from the sub then banana plugs from speakers to hold in place? I REALLY want that amp as i've heard it, loved it and fits with my budget perfectly..  :rockout:

CnoEvil's picture
Offline
Last seen: 13 hours 37 min ago
Joined: 21/08/2009 - 18:01
Posts: 12400
RE: Entry level amps aren't capable to drive Proac Studio 110

Electro wrote:

.... but CNO is far more knowledgeable about HT and subs than me . Smile

Ooooh, reputation can be misleading.

@BC

My amp has a pre-out, so that's how it's connected.

Subs can usually be connected though, as Electro has suggested, but in some ways, I would work towards speakers that don't need one.

"We should no more let numbers define audio quality than we should let chemical analysis be the arbiter of fine wines."  Nelson Pass

BigColz's picture
Offline
Last seen: 1 year 4 months ago
Joined: 18/06/2012 - 14:57
Posts: 304
RE: Entry level amps aren't capable to drive Proac Studio 110

CnoEvil wrote:

Electro wrote:

.... but CNO is far more knowledgeable about HT and subs than me . Smile

Ooooh, reputation can be misleading.

@BC

My amp has a pre-out, so that's how it's connected.

Subs can usually be connected though, as Electro has suggested, but in some ways, I would work towards speakers that don't need one.

 

I think from what i've experienced/demoed so far that isn't going to happen, certainly not in a room as small as mine, plus I want to have my listening room (when i get it) double as a 2.1 movie room :grin:

 

I read a few other posts about this and I hope they're right... I could undo the speaker terminals, connect BK XLS200 via the neutrix speakon cable (splits into 3) with spade connectors (1 to each red and one to either black) nip them back up and then plug the speaker cable in like normal.. As the sub cable is only taking the info and not driving anything it SHOULDN'T and apparently doesn't affect sound quality.. I guess it's really no different to if you had the sub plugged into the spare bi-wire sockets as they are all active all the time a signal is going through anyway..  :? :pray:

CnoEvil's picture
Offline
Last seen: 13 hours 37 min ago
Joined: 21/08/2009 - 18:01
Posts: 12400
RE: Entry level amps aren't capable to drive Proac Studio 110

BigColz wrote:

I read a few other posts about this and I hope they're right... I could undo the speaker terminals, connect BK XLS200 via the neutrix speakon cable (splits into 3) with spade connectors (1 to each red and one to either black) nip them back up and then plug the speaker cable in like normal.. As the sub cable is only taking the info and not driving anything it SHOULDN'T and apparently doesn't affect sound quality.. I guess it's really no different to if you had the sub plugged into the spare bi-wire sockets as they are all active all the time a signal is going through anyway..  :? :pray:

BK Subs are versatile in the way they can be connected, so you'll be fine....if in doubt, give BK a ring and talk it through.

"We should no more let numbers define audio quality than we should let chemical analysis be the arbiter of fine wines."  Nelson Pass

BigColz's picture
Offline
Last seen: 1 year 4 months ago
Joined: 18/06/2012 - 14:57
Posts: 304
RE: Entry level amps aren't capable to drive Proac Studio 110

CnoEvil wrote:

BigColz wrote:

I read a few other posts about this and I hope they're right... I could undo the speaker terminals, connect BK XLS200 via the neutrix speakon cable (splits into 3) with spade connectors (1 to each red and one to either black) nip them back up and then plug the speaker cable in like normal.. As the sub cable is only taking the info and not driving anything it SHOULDN'T and apparently doesn't affect sound quality.. I guess it's really no different to if you had the sub plugged into the spare bi-wire sockets as they are all active all the time a signal is going through anyway..  :? :pray:

BK Subs are versatile in the way they can be connected, so you'll be fine....if in doubt, give BK a ring and talk it through.

 

Yeah they sure are.. The way I described would def 'work' its just whether or not it would affect the quality going to the speaker, which I'm pretty sure it wouldn't.. I may give them a call anyway for piece of mind.. Any idea's of a good place to post my amp for sale? eBay gave put up there seller fees  |(

CnoEvil's picture
Offline
Last seen: 13 hours 37 min ago
Joined: 21/08/2009 - 18:01
Posts: 12400
RE: Entry level amps aren't capable to drive Proac Studio 110

I don't sell stuff (just let it pile up!! Sad )...but Gumtree and DoneDeal spring to mind.

"We should no more let numbers define audio quality than we should let chemical analysis be the arbiter of fine wines."  Nelson Pass

dimedrol's picture
Offline
Last seen: 1 year 1 month ago
Joined: 26/11/2012 - 10:32
Posts: 34
RE: Entry level amps aren't capable to drive Proac Studio 110

Did not come back to the topic for a while. A day ago I got Camridge 840a amp for a bargain price. So posting my audition results here. The bass increased to what I would estimate as 50% of what I would expect comparing to the Rotel amp I own. At least now I can sense the bass vibrating through the walls when siting in the next room. The bad thing is that nothing happened to the overly bright mid highs, dominating through the spectrum (7-10kHz). My reference to evaluate tonal balance of  a sound is professional studio monitoring headphones with proper amplification.

David@FrankHarvey's picture
Offline
Last seen: 6 hours 57 min ago
Joined: 27/06/2008 - 11:03
Posts: 11281
RE: Entry level amps aren't capable to drive Proac Studio 110

dimedrol wrote:
Did not come back to the topic for a while. A day ago I got Camridge 840a amp for a bargain price. So posting my audition results here. The bass increased to what I would estimate as 50% of what I would expect comparing to the Rotel amp I own. At least now I can sense the bass vibrating through the walls when siting in the next room. The bad thing is that nothing happened to the overly bright mid highs, dominating through the spectrum (7-10kHz). My reference to evaluate tonal balance of  a sound is professional studio monitoring headphones with proper amplification.

If there's that much more bass, my guess is that the CA might not be controlling the bass properly. Plus the fact the mid and treble are still an issue just tells me it is not good enough. Try an Arcam A19.

DavidF @FrankHarveyHiFi, Coventry.

"Long is the way, and hard, that out of hell leads up to light"

Pages

Log in or register to post comments