9 posts / 0 new
Last post
admin's picture
Bi-Wire, Bi-Amp my Marantz 6004 to KEF Q300's??

Hi Happy New Year all

I have recently purchased a Marantz PM6004 & CD6004 along with KEF Q300 speakers.  At the moment I have some cheap wire to make do whilst I look into getting some better wires.  On researching I gather that Bi-Amping is a lot better than Bi-Wiring,

firstly does my system support Bi-Amping ( I have tried looking on a lot sites and am a tad unsure ). 

secondly if not is it worth Bi-Wiring or should I just purchase better basic speaker wires with Banana plugs?

I am a total Newbie so please go easy on me, lol..

HF

kevinJ's picture
RE: Bi-Wire, Bi-Amp my Marantz 6004 to KEF Q300's??

Hello and welcome to the forum.

Your amp will not be able to bi-amp. You need two amps to do that (or an avr where you can select an extra pair of power outputs for the front speakers)

But you can bi-wire.

But imo, bi-wire speakers doesn't make (much of) a difference. Most of the time, you're better off buying a higher quality speakercable.

Anonymous
Anonymous's picture

Thanks for the swift reply. 

Higher quality speaker cable it is then. 

HF

DIB's picture

No need to spend a fortune on speaker cable. Some 2.5mm Van damme cable will do the trick, and wont break the bank.

http://www.audiovisualonline.co.uk/product/1565/van-damme-studio-grade-blue-speaker-cable-2-5mm

Thats what I use (matches my carpet!). Banana plugs at amp end (for ease of use), bare wire at speaker end.

Creek/ProJect/SBT/Epos

Pistol Pete1's picture

After extensive testing, including blind testing, I would recommend that you either bi wire or add a loop of wire to bypass the rear selector knobs on the back of the KEF Q series speakers....