12 posts / 0 new
Last post
dalwen's picture
Offline
Last seen: 1 week 5 days ago
Joined: 18/01/2012 - 19:19
Posts: 94
Audioquest 14/4 or 14/2?

Hi,

if you have (single wire) standmounters, like i do, do i have to use  the audioquest 14/4 or 14/2?

thank you for your responce.

Anonymous
Anonymous's picture
RE: Audioquest 14/4 or 14/2?

I have audioquest FLX slip 14/4 single wired, ie. two wires into each banana plugs. Works really well.

matthewpiano's picture
Offline
Last seen: 21 hours 3 min ago
Joined: 23/11/2007 - 22:23
Posts: 8238
RE: Audioquest 14/4 or 14/2?

Their G2 is more than good enough IMO.  I use G2 in my system and, having compared it to much more expensive cables (which I actually own), I think it is spot on.  Works well with their entry-level Evergreen interconnect too.

Rega RP3/Elys 2 - Graham Slee Gram Amp 1 - Rotel RCD965BX - Exposure 1010 amp - Dynaudio DM2/6 - Chord Co. Chameleon VEE3/Rumour 2 - Musical Fidelity V90-HPA - Sennheiser HD595

dalwen's picture
Offline
Last seen: 1 week 5 days ago
Joined: 18/01/2012 - 19:19
Posts: 94
RE: Audioquest 14/4 or 14/2?

Thank you tino and matthew,

 

the price in holland is the same for the G2 and the 14/2. I think i'll order the 14/2.

cheers Dalwen

antskip's picture
Offline
Last seen: 1 year 3 months ago
Joined: 09/12/2011 - 20:52
Posts: 42
RE: Audioquest 14/4 or 14/2?

You can use either the 14/4 or the 14/2, but the 14/4 is better than the 14/2, unless you must have the thinner cable. The 14/4 has twice the bandwidth of the 14/2 - 2 wires go to each connector rather than just the one. The 4X14AWG 's will act as the equivalent of 2X11AWG . Just make sure your 14/4's are configured for single-wire, not bi-wire...

Anonymous
Anonymous's picture
RE: Audioquest 14/4 or 14/2?

antskip wrote:

You can use either the 14/4 or the 14/2, but the 14/4 is better than the 14/2, unless you must have the thinner cable. The 14/4 has twice the bandwidth of the 14/2 - 2 wires go to each connector rather than just the one. The 4X14AWG 's will act as the equivalent of 2X11AWG . Just make sure your 14/4's are configured for single-wire, not bi-wire...

+1

Lo Fi's picture
Offline
Last seen: 9 months 3 weeks ago
Joined: 13/07/2011 - 19:33
Posts: 196
RE: Audioquest 14/4 or 14/2?

I am thinking of using the version of Audioquest cable that was given a best buy by What HiFi and wondered how it was wired.
Does anyone know for sure if it was 2 wires into each plug at each end and also which banana / Z plugs were used in the test.

alchemist 1's picture
Offline
Last seen: 1 day 19 hours ago
Joined: 28/03/2012 - 18:19
Posts: 641
RE: Audioquest 14/4 or 14/2?

   So four is better than two ?..............:?

Al ears's picture
Offline
Last seen: 2 hours 37 min ago
Joined: 23/11/2008 - 19:20
Posts: 2831
RE: Audioquest 14/4 or 14/2?

alchemist 1 wrote:

   So four is better than two ?..............:?

My thoughts exactly. Double the bandwidth indeed. ROFL :rofl:

Loads of second hand expensive kit!

Tom Evans Audio Design amplification / Acoustic Zen speakers.

SiUK's picture
Offline
Last seen: 7 months 3 weeks ago
Joined: 05/01/2013 - 10:15
Posts: 428
RE: Audioquest 14/4 or 14/2?

I'd say 14/4. I wouldn't get the 14/2 personally, and I have 14/4 cable here. They are supposed to be used for single wire use, not biwire...as I found out after much faffing (see what hi-fi review). Good cable for the money.

Coll's picture
Offline
Last seen: 3 days 20 hours ago
Joined: 04/05/2011 - 21:47
Posts: 223
RE: Audioquest 14/4 or 14/2?

tino1104 wrote:

I have audioquest FLX slip 14/4 single wired, ie. two wires into each banana plugs. Works really well.

Me too

alchemist 1's picture
Offline
Last seen: 1 day 19 hours ago
Joined: 28/03/2012 - 18:19
Posts: 641
RE: Audioquest 14/4 or 14/2?

   If they do not differ in sound presentation .

  Then why do WHF bother to review any cables ?

            :?

 

Log in or register to post comments