Have your say & ask the experts!

Audioquest 14/4 or 14/2?

11 replies [Last post]
dalwen's picture
Offline
Joined: 18 Jan 2012
Posts: 88

Hi,

if you have (single wire) standmounters, like i do, do i have to use  the audioquest 14/4 or 14/2?

thank you for your responce.

__________________

Yamaha RX-497 & CDX-397mk2 | Q Acoustics 2010i

Samsung UE46ES6710 | Sony BDP-373

iPad4 | iPhone 5 | Nexus 7

tino1104's picture
Offline
Joined: 5 Jan 2013
Posts: 55
RE: Audioquest 14/4 or 14/2?

I have audioquest FLX slip 14/4 single wired, ie. two wires into each banana plugs. Works really well.

__________________

Panasonic TX-L42WT50B TV, Panasonic DMP-BDT220 Blu Ray, Virgin Tivo, Ruark Audio R4i, Marantz M-CR603, Kef R100 speakers...Cables....Audioquest FLX SLiP 14/4 speaker cables, Audioquest HDMI's, TCI Coral Optical + Clearer Audio Silverline, Merlin Terantula MK6 and Tacima CS929.

matthewpiano's picture
Online
Joined: 23 Nov 2007
Posts: 7859
RE: Audioquest 14/4 or 14/2?

Their G2 is more than good enough IMO.  I use G2 in my system and, having compared it to much more expensive cables (which I actually own), I think it is spot on.  Works well with their entry-level Evergreen interconnect too.

__________________

Sources: Rega RP3/Elys 2 - Roksan Kandy K2 CDS Phono Stage Cambridge Audio 540P

Amplification: Exposure 1010

Speakers: Dynaudio DM2/6  Stands: Atacama Nexus 6 + Blok 300

Cables: Chord Co. and Merlin

Head-Fi System: PC/Qobuz Hi-Fi - NAD C521BEE - Musical Fidelity V90-HPA - Sennhesier HD595

Listening to MUSIC!

dalwen's picture
Offline
Joined: 18 Jan 2012
Posts: 88
RE: Audioquest 14/4 or 14/2?

Thank you tino and matthew,

 

the price in holland is the same for the G2 and the 14/2. I think i'll order the 14/2.

cheers Dalwen

__________________

Yamaha RX-497 & CDX-397mk2 | Q Acoustics 2010i

Samsung UE46ES6710 | Sony BDP-373

iPad4 | iPhone 5 | Nexus 7

antskip's picture
Offline
Joined: 9 Dec 2011
Posts: 44
RE: Audioquest 14/4 or 14/2?

You can use either the 14/4 or the 14/2, but the 14/4 is better than the 14/2, unless you must have the thinner cable. The 14/4 has twice the bandwidth of the 14/2 - 2 wires go to each connector rather than just the one. The 4X14AWG 's will act as the equivalent of 2X11AWG . Just make sure your 14/4's are configured for single-wire, not bi-wire...

__________________

Rega Brio-R integrated amp, Rega Apollo-R cd player, Tellurium Q Green speaker cables, Tellurium Q Black interconnects, Rega Isis/Osiris mains power cables, KEF LS50 speakers.

john_caius's picture
Offline
Joined: 3 Dec 2012
Posts: 30
RE: Audioquest 14/4 or 14/2?

antskip wrote:

You can use either the 14/4 or the 14/2, but the 14/4 is better than the 14/2, unless you must have the thinner cable. The 14/4 has twice the bandwidth of the 14/2 - 2 wires go to each connector rather than just the one. The 4X14AWG 's will act as the equivalent of 2X11AWG . Just make sure your 14/4's are configured for single-wire, not bi-wire...

+1

Lo Fi's picture
Offline
Joined: 13 Jul 2011
Posts: 202
RE: Audioquest 14/4 or 14/2?

I am thinking of using the version of Audioquest cable that was given a best buy by What HiFi and wondered how it was wired.
Does anyone know for sure if it was 2 wires into each plug at each end and also which banana / Z plugs were used in the test.

__________________

alchemist 1's picture
Offline
Joined: 28 Mar 2012
Posts: 605
RE: Audioquest 14/4 or 14/2?

   So four is better than two ?..............puzzled

Al ears's picture
Offline
Joined: 23 Nov 2008
Posts: 2434
RE: Audioquest 14/4 or 14/2?

alchemist 1 wrote:

   So four is better than two ?..............puzzled

My thoughts exactly. Double the bandwidth indeed. rolling on the floor laughing :rofl:

__________________

Origin Live Aurora Gold+Illustrious Mk2 arm+Zyx R100-02/Stello CDT200+Stello DA220 dac/Tom Evans Groove Anniversary phono amp/Tom Evans Vibe preamp/Linear A power amp/Acoustic Zen Adagios/Chord cables/Oppo 105EU.

SiUK's picture
Offline
Joined: 5 Jan 2013
Posts: 432
RE: Audioquest 14/4 or 14/2?

I'd say 14/4. I wouldn't get the 14/2 personally, and I have 14/4 cable here. They are supposed to be used for single wire use, not biwire...as I found out after much faffing (see what hi-fi review). Good cable for the money.

__________________

Reductionists fall foul of floccinaucinihilipilification  -- edited for brevity

Coll's picture
Offline
Joined: 4 May 2011
Posts: 197
RE: Audioquest 14/4 or 14/2?

tino1104 wrote:

I have audioquest FLX slip 14/4 single wired, ie. two wires into each banana plugs. Works really well.

Me too

__________________

alchemist 1's picture
Offline
Joined: 28 Mar 2012
Posts: 605
RE: Audioquest 14/4 or 14/2?

   If they do not differ in sound presentation .

  Then why do WHF bother to review any cables ?

            puzzled