Have your say & ask the experts!

Upscaling SKY HD to 1080p via amp

6 replies [Last post]
Joined: 14 May 2013
Posts: 7

Hi everyone I have a question to ask.I have Sky HD and the resolution output is set to AUTO on my Sky HD box and I wanted to know if I set my Onkyo 608 amp to upscale the signal to 1080p if it would be worthwhile setting at it to upscale 1080i to 1080p.My TV is a Samsung 46" C8000 LED HDTV that fully supports 1080p.Thanks in advanced

GazzyP's picture
Offline
Joined: 3 Jul 2008
Posts: 77
RE: Upscaling SKY HD to 1080p via amp

I have my Onkyo 616 upscale Sky HD to 1080p on my Samsung D8000 46". I find it takes some strain off the TV so less artefacts around motion. It's worth experimenting with. 

__________________

mr malarky's picture
Offline
Joined: 4 Apr 2009
Posts: 837
RE: Upscaling SKY HD to 1080p via amp

Have my sky box set to 720p rather than 1080i, and have my pioneer amp upscaling to 1080p.

Find it a smoother picture than when having the sky box set to Auto or 1080i.

Appreciate the amps not an onkyo so not directly comparable, but worth a try and see what you think.

__________________

Lounge: Panasonic TX-P60ZT65B (calibrated), Pioneer SC-LX75, Denon DPB-2012, Sky-HD1TB, PS4, Xbox 360, Apple-TV, Atacama Equinox AV stand, Monitor Audio Silver RX8, RXC, RX-FX, RXW-12, Anti-Mode 8033c Sub EQ. Kitchen: Pioneer XC-HM81, Monitor Audio Bronze BX2. Bedroom: Samsung UE37D6510, Samsung BD-C5900, Sky-HD, Pioneer N-50, Rotel RC-03 (pre-amp), Rotel RB-9708X (power-amp), Mordaunt-Short MS914

GSB
GSB's picture
Offline
Joined: 27 Mar 2011
Posts: 1353
RE: Upscaling SKY HD to 1080p via amp

I'm going to try that Mr M Smile

__________________

PanasonicTX-P46GT30B..Yamaha RX-A1010...Music Fidelity M3i...OPPO105EU...KEFR100/R200C/3001SE/HTB2SE...SkyHD2TB...QED Copper Speaker Cable /HDMI/Analogue...PS3...IPAD2

daveh75's picture
Offline
Joined: 31 Jul 2008
Posts: 8240
RE: Upscaling SKY HD to 1080p via amp

Personally i'd leave the Sky box set to auto since they're pretty poor at both deinterlacing and upscaling, and leave that to either the a/v amp or tv

__________________

 

 

GSB
GSB's picture
Offline
Joined: 27 Mar 2011
Posts: 1353
RE: Upscaling SKY HD to 1080p via amp

GazzyP wrote:

I have my Onkyo 616 upscale Sky HD to 1080p on my Samsung D8000 46". I find it takes some strain off the TV so less artefacts around motion. It's worth experimenting with. 

I've settled on this,tbh i can see a slight  difference from setting the sky box at 720p but this could be imagined,nothing that stands out excellent!

__________________

PanasonicTX-P46GT30B..Yamaha RX-A1010...Music Fidelity M3i...OPPO105EU...KEFR100/R200C/3001SE/HTB2SE...SkyHD2TB...QED Copper Speaker Cable /HDMI/Analogue...PS3...IPAD2

bigboss's picture
Offline
Joined: 25 Mar 2009
Posts: 11877
RE: Upscaling SKY HD to 1080p via amp

mr malarky wrote:

Have my sky box set to 720p rather than 1080i, and have my pioneer amp upscaling to 1080p.

Find it a smoother picture than when having the sky box set to Auto or 1080i.

Appreciate the amps not an onkyo so not directly comparable, but worth a try and see what you think.

Basically, what will happen is 1080i images from HD channels are downscaled to 720p & then upscaled again by the Pioneer. That's too much processing. I do what Daveh75 says.

__________________

My Home Cinema  Pioneer KRP 500A, Yamaha RX-V1900, MA Radius R225HD LCR, R90HD rears, AW12 sub, Panasonic BD60, PS3, Boxee Box, Sky HD, Boxee Box, Logitech Harmony One, Logitech PS3 Adapter, Sonos ZP90

Bedroom Samsung UE32C6510, PS3 slim white, Apple TV, Sonos S5, Sonos ZP90, Audioengine 2, Oppo OPDV971H

Miscellaneous: Synology DS212J + 2 X WD Red 2TB drives, WD 1TB NAS, Sonos ZoneBridge, BT HH3 as modem & AirPort Extreme router