Have your say & ask the experts!

allflac download site

7 replies [Last post]
Gusboll
Gusboll's picture
Offline
Joined: 22 Aug 2008
Posts: 537

Going to give it a go; anyone else tried it?

Currently listening to: Steve Hillage - Fish Rising

__________________

Cyrus 8vs2 (+ PSX-R), Cyrus X Power Amp (+ PSX-R), Squeezebox Touch, Silver High Breed Quintessence Cables, PMC FB1i Speakers.

Hi fi is for Life

Gusboll
Gusboll's picture
Offline
Joined: 22 Aug 2008
Posts: 537
RE: allflac download site

Although, it looks illegal and a bit dodgy.

__________________

Cyrus 8vs2 (+ PSX-R), Cyrus X Power Amp (+ PSX-R), Squeezebox Touch, Silver High Breed Quintessence Cables, PMC FB1i Speakers.

Hi fi is for Life

dariushifi
dariushifi's picture
Offline
Joined: 9 Apr 2011
Posts: 68
RE: allflac download site

I wouldn't say so. I buy from them for few years now. This american site would of been shut down by now if it was doggy.

Very good site by the way. You will need medivel cue spliter to split tracks as most of the music is in lossless cd image form,

therefore the whole cd is one track. I remember I got 15% off for adding $50 to the fund once.

 

__________________

SONY Bravia 32 EX723, Denon DBP2012UD, Naim UnitiQute, B&W685, Nac A5, Chord Active HDMI 1.4, Chord Crimson Plus

Gusboll
Gusboll's picture
Offline
Joined: 22 Aug 2008
Posts: 537
RE: allflac download site

Thanks dariushifi,

Given the prices, it looks iffy to me; and what leads you to believe that it's American?

__________________

Cyrus 8vs2 (+ PSX-R), Cyrus X Power Amp (+ PSX-R), Squeezebox Touch, Silver High Breed Quintessence Cables, PMC FB1i Speakers.

Hi fi is for Life

SteveD
SteveD's picture
Offline
Joined: 23 Jan 2012
Posts: 391
RE: allflac download site

Hi, read the posts on this forum and I think I will steer clear personally.

Might be ok but not going to chance it myself.

Even if not a risk to your credit card it sounds very up and down performance-wise with the site going down sometimes and as there have apparently been lots of domain registration changes I assume it is illegal in terms of music rights legislation unless they are operating under an exemption in Ukraine.  

 

 

Copy of post from http://www.head-fi.org/t/590443/allflac-com:

Looks like this site is hosted in the UK (at least this week), but the owner may be in the Ukraine according to #6 under the terms of service: http://www.allflac.com/rules.php

#6 - When using this site all legal relationships, between the parties of this agreement and other persons, are regulated by this agreement and corresponding rules of current legislation in Ukraine.

I would steer very clear of this site.  My opinion is that this site is in the credit card skimming information market.  They are either steeling credit card information and illegally selling copyrighted music or any combination of the two.

http://whois.domaintools.com/allflac.com

http://www.robtex.com/ip/92.48.78.161.html#ip

Domaintools shows that this website has changed its whois information 709 times since 2008...very suspect.  I would not be surprised if the whois information changes weekly if not more often.

__________________

MacBook Air (iTunes/BitPerfect) > Chord Company USB Silver Plus > MF V-Link II > Chord Optichord > Rega DAC > Tellerium Black I/C > Rega Brio-R > Tellerium Black S/C > Rega RS3s

iTouch > Graham Slee Novo > Grado SR80is

dariushifi
dariushifi's picture
Offline
Joined: 9 Apr 2011
Posts: 68
RE: allflac download site

If this website  is registered in Uk and it is illigal, Why it is not closed. How they get away with it? Also I could not find  It on any black lists. 

Also there is conflicting information on WOT Reputation Scorecard site, Where it states server location - USA.

Who is right then? I am very confused, angry and disillusioned with all these domin check sites. How can we be sure that they are correct?  

It gives domin's adress even post code and it is on goggle search very top ( most expensive place ). If it is illigal it should not be there and the guy in stanmore should be arrested.

__________________

SONY Bravia 32 EX723, Denon DBP2012UD, Naim UnitiQute, B&W685, Nac A5, Chord Active HDMI 1.4, Chord Crimson Plus

John Duncan
John Duncan's picture
Offline
Joined: 8 Jan 2008
Posts: 20417
RE: allflac download site

bargepole...

__________________

CA StreamMagic 6  |  CA 751BD  |  CA 651A  |  PMC DB1i

Moderator. mail: john.duncan.whf at the mail of g dot com

Gusboll
Gusboll's picture
Offline
Joined: 22 Aug 2008
Posts: 537
RE: allflac download site

Hmmm, Had a go, tried it with a (personally) low risk payment card; it worked, simple enough (even the 'splitting' via Medieval) and music sounds good. 'Search' doesn't work and can't seem to get beyond page 1 where there are multiple pages.

It doesn't look legit though!

Can anyone enlighten me as to why there are no decent download sites in the UK offering CD quality (FLAC) stuff; aside from the very narrow Linn-type efforts? My 2TB NAS drive is only half full and continues to feel hungry.

__________________

Cyrus 8vs2 (+ PSX-R), Cyrus X Power Amp (+ PSX-R), Squeezebox Touch, Silver High Breed Quintessence Cables, PMC FB1i Speakers.

Hi fi is for Life