16 posts / 0 new
Last post
sta99y's picture
Offline
Last seen: 1 year 2 months ago
Joined: 10/05/2010 - 22:48
Posts: 501
Will it be 2011's or 2012's will have to wait and see!! Pls sing it.

Good morning all, it's my 42nd birthday and I shall be putting monies towards a new av amp! 

List to demo is 

Yamaha RX-A810

Yamaha RX-V673

Yamaha RX-V773

 

The 810 front looks better IMO but I really like the airplay feature they now have. 

I will be selling my aptv2 to help fund new amp. 

I shall pop to Sevenoaks and Richer sounds to demo all above plus the Pioneer and Denon although heart stuck on Yammy. 

These new offerings by Yamaha seem feature packed. 

What do you think??

My taste is 75% movies and I mostly stream my music. 

 

Thanks all

 

Darrell

GSB's picture
Offline
Last seen: 1 year 1 day ago
Joined: 27/03/2011 - 19:54
Posts: 1355
RE: Will it be 2011's or 2012's it.

Happy Birthday Darrell,not sure i'm qualified to answer your op but i stream with my yam DLNA,the avr would have to be connected to your router,but then hey presto!!

hope this fills a gap for now....

graham

bigboss's picture
Offline
Last seen: 4 hours 1 min ago
Joined: 25/03/2009 - 21:40
Posts: 12731
RE: Will it be 2011's or 2012's

Happy Birthday!

Do you think you will be using the additional features of the new amps? Let us know how your demo goes.

sta99y's picture
Offline
Last seen: 1 year 2 months ago
Joined: 10/05/2010 - 22:48
Posts: 501
RE: Will it be 2011's or 2012's

Thanks, 

My phone is glued to my hand so to play from phone (stream) is a must, I spouse I could buy aptv3 as they half the price of the aptv2 that I'm selling. DLNA is good but I then got to have pc on!! Or I buy a NAS to store music on. 

Fyi my router sits in same cupboard as amp, bd, Xbox, aptv so hard wired suits me. 

 

Demo time!! 

sta99y's picture
Offline
Last seen: 1 year 2 months ago
Joined: 10/05/2010 - 22:48
Posts: 501
RE: Will it be 2011's or 2012's

Popped into Sevenoaks this morning and had a browse, talked about previous amps I owned and amp I had in mind, Yamaha RX-A810, the two blokes in shop both said the 810 is not on par with my old RX-V1800, they both insisted on the RX-V1010 or above, I didn't get a demo as never had the time, however they had the new RX-V673 which is feature packed but now not on my list as the front panel is cluttered with stickers and buttons!! Aesthetics is important also. 

They dismissed Denon and stated don't touch with a barge pole, it was Pioneer and Yamaha as far as I could see, they did say pioneer to bright with Radius but ok with Apex and floor standers. 

 

So we're they trying to get more cash out of me?? Your views???

 

Darrell

MUSICRAFT's picture
Offline
Last seen: 9 hours 50 min ago
Joined: 23/03/2009 - 20:38
Posts: 4524
RE: Will it be 2011's or 2012's

Hi Darrell

If your budget allows then the Aventage RX-A1010 warrants the premium over the already impressive RX-A810. Just have a look through the top covers of both amplifiers. This gives a good idea of the superiority of the RX-A1010's internal layout/construction over the RX-A810's.

Anyway as good as the RX-A810 is however the RX-A810 doesn't quite have the RX-A1010's grip, precision and weight. The R-XA810 sounds somewhat flat and thin in comparison to the RX-A1010.

Btw, Yamaha AV amplification forms great synergy/tonal match with Monitor Audio's Radius HD Series, Apex Series, Silver RX Series, etc. time after time Smile

All the best

Rick @ Musicraft

sta99y's picture
Offline
Last seen: 1 year 2 months ago
Joined: 10/05/2010 - 22:48
Posts: 501
RE: Will it be 2011's or 2012's

MUSICRAFT wrote:

Hi Darrell

If your budget allows then the Aventage RX-A1010 warrants the premium over the already impressive RX-A810. Just have a look through the top covers of both amplifiers. This gives a good idea of the superiority of the RX-A1010's internal layout/construction over the RX-A810's.

Anyway as good as the RX-A810 is however the RX-A810 doesn't quite have the RX-A1010's grip, precision and weight. The R-XA810 sounds somewhat flat and thin in comparison to the RX-A1010.

Btw, Yamaha AV amplification forms great synergy/tonal match with Monitor Audio's Radius HD Series, Apex Series, Silver RX Series, etc. time after time Smile

All the best

Rick @ Musicraft

Thanks Rick, 

I will definitely get a demo of the 810 and the 1010, I think I will at some point get the APTV3 for AirPlay again as selling APTV2 as we speak to raise cash. 

I may even end up getting a NAS to play my music from and control via iPhone app. 

I will report back once I have had a demo. 

 

Thanks again all!!!!

 

Darrell

Son_of_SJ's picture
Offline
Last seen: 3 months 1 week ago
Joined: 10/09/2009 - 16:24
Posts: 1117
RE: Will it be 2011's or 2012's

Just to stress Darrell birthday boy, that right now, and I guess for the next fortnight until all the stock disappears, is a great time to be buying one of the Yamaha Aventage RX-A__10 series receivers, as we await the successor RX-A__20 series. Prices are a good bit lower than they were a couple of months ago. Get absolutely the best one that you can afford in the range, hence the RX-A1010 rather than the RX-A810, etc. For instance, the RX-A1010 accepts 7.1 multichannel analogue inputs, not the most fashionable feature I know, but you never know when that might prove useful. As well as sounding better than the RX-A810! I know that these examples are not from the same range, but I can say that from my own experience, that the sound of my still-very-lovely Yamaha RX-V671 in the bedroom (cost on Leap Day 2012, £369) doesn't fill the room as the Yamaha RX-V1067 in the kitchen does, discounted cost £500 in August 2011, original cost about £850. Go as high up the range as you can, on Monday it will still be (almost!) your birthday. I'm sure that any good retailer will be able to match any valid offer that you may see elsewhere, and that's as far as I can go without naming forum names! By the way, see if you can maybe get the titanium versions, I think they look great, and your wife will think that too!

Anonymous
Anonymous's picture
RE: Will it be 2011's or 2012's

A quick Ebay search reveals:

The Yamaha RX-A1010 for a fantastic price of £650 is at -  http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Open-Box-Yamaha-RX-A1010-Aventage-AV-Receiver-Black-/221071570177?pt=UK_Sound_Vision_Home_Cinema_Receivers&hash=item3378e47501#ht_1045wt_1399 Note: Used product. However, most of the ones on sale for £700 + are display models, anyways.

That's the cheapest price anywhere.

 

 

 

Son_of_SJ's picture
Offline
Last seen: 3 months 1 week ago
Joined: 10/09/2009 - 16:24
Posts: 1117
RE: Will it be 2011's or 2012's

An equally quick search for "Yamaha RX-A1010 price" on google shows the Yamaha RX-A1010 at £699 at Sevenoaks, but for an ex-display model. However, exceptional av, creative-audio, salisbury hifi, peter tyson and lintone audio all also have it at £699, sometimes including the wireless iPod dock. The price drops by £50 if you don't want the dock. All these are for brand-new models and mostly with 2- or 3-year guarantee and delivery. There shouldn't be any need just now (although there might be in a fortnight's time) to settle for an ex-display or open-box unit. But good dealers who are not listed in the google search may well be able to match these prices.

sta99y's picture
Offline
Last seen: 1 year 2 months ago
Joined: 10/05/2010 - 22:48
Posts: 501
RE: Will it be 2011's or 2012's

Hi all, I hear what your all saying and I think the 1010 is my choice to go with, I saw the customer return open box on eBay, my Sevenoaks store had display model at £700 today and once I clawed in the monies from PayPal, birthday and a bit of hustlin I will be able to barter hopefully. 

Nowadays though cash and plastic are all the same, no cheaper deal for readies I guess. 

Im going to keep trawling through the web looking for the illusive £600 titanium RX-A1010

 

Wish me luck out there boys an girls

 

Edit; not so illusive as Audio affair have a Titanium 1010 @. £600

There are a few unhappy customers on here for sure concerning Audio affair!! Hmmmm.....

 

Darrell

GSB's picture
Offline
Last seen: 1 year 1 day ago
Joined: 27/03/2011 - 19:54
Posts: 1355
RE: Will it be 2011's or 2012's will hav it.

For £600 i'd take a punt.....i love mine Smile

sta99y's picture
Offline
Last seen: 1 year 2 months ago
Joined: 10/05/2010 - 22:48
Posts: 501
RE: Will it be 2011's or 2012's will hav it.

GSB wrote:

For £600 i'd take a punt.....i love mine Smile

Can I ask couple questions pls....

When your amp is off in standby, say your watching Sky or Virgin do you still have to select that input on amp remote. 

Or is it a case of passing through on the last input used? So if then I want to play Xbox I would need to select that source on amp remote if I had previously been watching Virgin. 

 

Thanks GSB

shreader's picture
Offline
Last seen: 3 months 1 week ago
Joined: 30/08/2010 - 09:46
Posts: 34
yamaha 1010

i auditioned the 1010 at a superfy store last week the guys said exactly the same the yamaha is both good with music & movies,the MA speakers will complement the yamaha,i have a 1065 with brx5's and CWT160 in the ceiling if i had the money i would go for the 3010

GSB's picture
Offline
Last seen: 1 year 1 day ago
Joined: 27/03/2011 - 19:54
Posts: 1355
RE: Will it be 2011's or 2012's will hav it.

sta99y wrote:

GSB wrote:

For £600 i'd take a punt.....i love mine Smile

Can I ask couple questions pls....

When your amp is off in standby, say your watching Sky or Virgin do you still have to select that input on amp remote. 

Or is it a case of passing through on the last input used? So if then I want to play Xbox I would need to select that source on amp remote if I had previously been watching Virgin. 

 

Thanks GSB

 

can't realy say becouse i use avr all the time,but if i'm watching sky and want ps3 on all is press the scene button for ps and it switches on...lol

sta99y's picture
Offline
Last seen: 1 year 2 months ago
Joined: 10/05/2010 - 22:48
Posts: 501
RE: Will it be 2011's or 2012's will hav it.

GSB wrote:

sta99y wrote:

GSB wrote:

For £600 i'd take a punt.....i love mine Smile

Can I ask couple questions pls....

When your amp is off in standby, say your watching Sky or Virgin do you still have to select that input on amp remote. 

Or is it a case of passing through on the last input used? So if then I want to play Xbox I would need to select that source on amp remote if I had previously been watching Virgin. 

 

Thanks GSB

 

can't realy say becouse i use avr all the time,but if i'm watching sky and want ps3 on all is press the scene button for ps and it switches on...lol

yes you can have sources switched on and certain DSP switched on etc... And save to a scene so when the certain scene button pressed it acts as a command....
Log in or register to post comments