Have your say & ask the experts!

No DTS sound through Pioneer BDP-150K Blu Ray

18 replies [Last post]
ListoMefisto's picture
Offline
Joined: 9 Dec 2012
Posts: 9

Hello,

I have a problem which is driving me crazy. I had a DVD player connected to my Yamaha Home Cinema and I got DTS sound with no problems (I had it connected with optical digital audio cable). Now, I have bought a Pioneer BDP-150K and since it doesn't have a digital audio output I had to connect it with HDMI. The problem is I don't get DTS sound (and I've tried to change may options from the set up menu from the Blu Ray Player). Can someone help me, please? Should I get DTS sound with HDMI or not? I tried to force DTS Sound changing inputs mode from the Yamaha Amplifier and I get the legend "DTS" in the AV but I get no sound.

Thanks in advance.

bigboss's picture
Offline
Joined: 25 Mar 2009
Posts: 11788
RE: No DTS sound through Pioneer BDP-150K Blu Ray

From what I can understand, DTS light is not lighting up on your amplifier. That's because your blu ray player is decoding audio. So you're still getting DTS without the light on the amplifier turning on. If you "bitstream" audio from your blu ray player to your amplifier, then the DTS light will come on.

__________________

My Home Cinema  Pioneer KRP 500A, Yamaha RX-V1900, MA Radius R225HD LCR, R90HD rears, AW12 sub, Panasonic BD60, PS3, Boxee Box, Sky HD, Boxee Box, Logitech Harmony One, Logitech PS3 Adapter, Sonos ZP90

Bedroom Samsung UE32C6510, PS3 slim white, Apple TV, Sonos S5, Sonos ZP90, Audioengine 2, Oppo OPDV971H

Miscellaneous: Synology DS212J + 2 X WD Red 2TB drives, WD 1TB NAS, Sonos ZoneBridge, BT HH3 as modem & AirPort Extreme router

ListoMefisto's picture
Offline
Joined: 9 Dec 2012
Posts: 9
RE: No DTS sound through Pioneer BDP-150K Blu Ray

Hello.

I tried to "bitstream" audio before posting here but I didnt get the "DTS" legend on the amplifier. I am worried because if I select "DTS Sound" in the amplifier, I get no sound, so I am not receiving DTS signal. I only receive sound when the amplifier is set to "Analog" instead of "DTS". Any idea?

Thanks.

 

bigboss's picture
Offline
Joined: 25 Mar 2009
Posts: 11788
RE: No DTS sound through Pioneer BDP-150K Blu Ray

So what are you getting? What does it say on tne amplifier? Are you getting HD audio & not DTS because you've now connected via HDMI? In that case, HD sound is better. Don't force it to DTS.

__________________

My Home Cinema  Pioneer KRP 500A, Yamaha RX-V1900, MA Radius R225HD LCR, R90HD rears, AW12 sub, Panasonic BD60, PS3, Boxee Box, Sky HD, Boxee Box, Logitech Harmony One, Logitech PS3 Adapter, Sonos ZP90

Bedroom Samsung UE32C6510, PS3 slim white, Apple TV, Sonos S5, Sonos ZP90, Audioengine 2, Oppo OPDV971H

Miscellaneous: Synology DS212J + 2 X WD Red 2TB drives, WD 1TB NAS, Sonos ZoneBridge, BT HH3 as modem & AirPort Extreme router

f1only's picture
Offline
Joined: 7 Apr 2010
Posts: 1059
RE: No DTS sound through Pioneer BDP-150K Blu Ray

What Yamaha A/V Amp do you have?

__________________

TV: Sony KDL-46HX853 ( calibrated ), Virgin Tivo Box, BD Players: Sony BDP-S790,  PS3, PS4 & Panasonic DMR-BWT700

A/V Amp: Yamaha RXV-767 (NEED UPGRADE)

Speakers: Dali Ikon 6 Front L/R, Dali Ikon 1's Surround, Dali Ikon Vocal 2 Centre, B&W ASW610 Subwoofer.

My System

Sony Bravia 46HX853 Calibrated Settings

ListoMefisto's picture
Offline
Joined: 9 Dec 2012
Posts: 9
RE: No DTS sound through Pioneer BDP-150K Blu Ray

My Yamaha Amp is RX-V640RDS.

bigboss's picture
Offline
Joined: 25 Mar 2009
Posts: 11788
RE: No DTS sound through Pioneer BDP-150K Blu Ray

Doesn't look like your amp decodes HD sound. I can't see any HDMI input in it either. How have you connected it?

__________________

My Home Cinema  Pioneer KRP 500A, Yamaha RX-V1900, MA Radius R225HD LCR, R90HD rears, AW12 sub, Panasonic BD60, PS3, Boxee Box, Sky HD, Boxee Box, Logitech Harmony One, Logitech PS3 Adapter, Sonos ZP90

Bedroom Samsung UE32C6510, PS3 slim white, Apple TV, Sonos S5, Sonos ZP90, Audioengine 2, Oppo OPDV971H

Miscellaneous: Synology DS212J + 2 X WD Red 2TB drives, WD 1TB NAS, Sonos ZoneBridge, BT HH3 as modem & AirPort Extreme router

f1only's picture
Offline
Joined: 7 Apr 2010
Posts: 1059
RE: No DTS sound through Pioneer BDP-150K Blu Ray

Ok so obviously your amp will not support HD audio from the Pioneer BD player. Presumably if you are sending the audio via Optical-Out the player knows this & is set up for it. The player settings if they are similar to my old Pioneer BDP320 may have the option to downmix it to the lower DTS in the home menu.

The Audio can also be down to the Blu-ray disc itself, sometimes you have to go in to the discs audio settings & tell it to output the right audio.

Regards ...

__________________

TV: Sony KDL-46HX853 ( calibrated ), Virgin Tivo Box, BD Players: Sony BDP-S790,  PS3, PS4 & Panasonic DMR-BWT700

A/V Amp: Yamaha RXV-767 (NEED UPGRADE)

Speakers: Dali Ikon 6 Front L/R, Dali Ikon 1's Surround, Dali Ikon Vocal 2 Centre, B&W ASW610 Subwoofer.

My System

Sony Bravia 46HX853 Calibrated Settings

ListoMefisto's picture
Offline
Joined: 9 Dec 2012
Posts: 9
RE: No DTS sound through Pioneer BDP-150K Blu Ray

Mmm yes, you are right. I must have connected something wrong. I think I connected the HDMI between the TV and the Blu Ray Player and it should be between the Blu Ray and the Yamaha A!V... (and the Amp doesnt have HDMI connection so I will have to use another connection type) I will review the connections.

Thanks.

bigboss's picture
Offline
Joined: 25 Mar 2009
Posts: 11788
RE: No DTS sound through Pioneer BDP-150K Blu Ray

You should 've gone for a player with analogue outs. That would've been the 2nd most straightforward option.....upgrading your amp is the 1st! Smile

__________________

My Home Cinema  Pioneer KRP 500A, Yamaha RX-V1900, MA Radius R225HD LCR, R90HD rears, AW12 sub, Panasonic BD60, PS3, Boxee Box, Sky HD, Boxee Box, Logitech Harmony One, Logitech PS3 Adapter, Sonos ZP90

Bedroom Samsung UE32C6510, PS3 slim white, Apple TV, Sonos S5, Sonos ZP90, Audioengine 2, Oppo OPDV971H

Miscellaneous: Synology DS212J + 2 X WD Red 2TB drives, WD 1TB NAS, Sonos ZoneBridge, BT HH3 as modem & AirPort Extreme router

ListoMefisto's picture
Offline
Joined: 9 Dec 2012
Posts: 9
RE: No DTS sound through Pioneer BDP-150K Blu Ray

Hello.

I'll have to buy a Digital Coaxial Audio cable and with that cable I'll be able to have DTS sound.

Thank you to everybody!

 

ListoMefisto's picture
Offline
Joined: 9 Dec 2012
Posts: 9
RE: No DTS sound through Pioneer BDP-150K Blu Ray

Hello.

I finally managed to solve (partially) the problem. I used a coaxial sound cable and I finally got DTS / Dolby Digital / etc sound Smile The cable is a typical Red - White - Yellow cable and I only use one of the three extremes (I have it plugged into the "Digital Audio Coaxial" sound of the AV Amp). I've noticed that I don't get 6.1 sound; I only get 5.1 sound. What would be the best solution so I could get 6.1 sound? Can I get 6.1 with my current amplifier and Blu-Ray? The main problem is that the Blu-Ray doesn't have an Optical output and the AV Amp doesn't have HDMIs inputs. I have read something about plugging into the AV Amplifier 6 analog cables but I don't see where I should plug them to the Blu-Ray.

Thanks!

The_Lhc's picture
Online
Joined: 16 Oct 2008
Posts: 12584
RE: No DTS sound through Pioneer BDP-150K Blu Ray

ListoMefisto wrote:
I used a coaxial sound cable and I finally got DTS / Dolby Digital / etc sound The cable is a typical Red - White - Yellow cable

That is NOT a digital coaxial cable! it's a standard composite video and stereo RCA cable. It may work but isn't designed for what you're using it for.

Quote:
I've noticed that I don't get 6.1 sound; I only get 5.1 sound. What would be the best solution so I could get 6.1 sound? Can I get 6.1 with my current amplifier and Blu-Ray?

Does the film you're watching have a 6.1 soundtrack? Did you get 6.1 audio before, does your amp even have 6 channels of amplification (I can't be bothered to check).

Quote:
The main problem is that the Blu-Ray doesn't have an Optical output and the AV Amp doesn't have HDMIs inputs. I have read something about plugging into the AV Amplifier 6 analog cables but I don't see where I should plug them to the Blu-Ray.

That blu-ray player doesn't have the required analogue outputs, take it back and either buy one with an optical output or with the 6/8 channel analogue outputs (that'll be significantly more expensive though).

ListoMefisto's picture
Offline
Joined: 9 Dec 2012
Posts: 9
RE: No DTS sound through Pioneer BDP-150K Blu Ray

Can you put a picture or, if posible, a link to a digital coaxial cable? All the shops I visited couldnt help me except one where they told me to use the RCA.

Yes, the film has 6.1 soundtrack and I managed to get 6.1 soundtrack with my old DVD player, using its optical output. And yes, my amp has 6 channels of amplification but the rear center speaker cant be activated now with the blu ray player (my old DVD player activated It using the optical output).

Should I use a coaxial to optical cable? i tried to find one but the shops I visited show me a wrong cable because the supposed coaxial part couldnt fit in the blu ray player. It had a rare end part, like a kind of romb, and It didnt fit at all.

Thanks.

Son_of_SJ's picture
Offline
Joined: 10 Sep 2009
Posts: 1084
RE: No DTS sound through Pioneer BDP-150K Blu Ray

In the four years that I've been interested in home cinema I don't remember hearing the model number of your Yamaha amplifier quoted anywhere, so I guess it's more than four years old. No surprise then that it can't decode HD audio.

A digital coaxial cable looks like this one, from Richer Sounds

http://www.richersounds.com/product/av-interconnects/cambridge-audio/dig...

I have one of these in each of my rooms. I'm assuming that your Blu-Ray player does have a coaxial digital output connection and that your amplfier does have a coaxial digital input connection? Otherwise, the cable above won't work in your system.

Son_of_SJ's picture
Offline
Joined: 10 Sep 2009
Posts: 1084
RE: No DTS sound through Pioneer BDP-150K Blu Ray

By the way, I'm curious about the (DVD I notice, not Blu-Ray) disc that has the 6.1 soundtrack. Can you tell us which actual disc it is? Does it say 6.1 surround sound on the DVD cover? I ask because I didn't know that DVDs (not Blu-Rays) had 6.1 sound, but I'm very willing to be educated. I get essentially 6.1 sound, using a single surround back channel, in my ktichen and bedroom, because I've set my Yamaha receivers to the ES/EX option in the sound menu, whereby they generate a single surround back channel from a 5.1 soundtrack, or convert a 7.1 soundtrack down to 6.1. But I didn't know that discs were actually made in 6.1. I thought that discs were either 5.1 or 7.1, but do put me right.