AKG K550 is rated 4.4 out of 5 by 12.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful sound quality headphones Fantastic headphones from warm open sound and precise bass amazing for its price outperforms rivals in de higher prices !!!
Date published: 2016-04-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Enclosed excellence leads to living-room harmony With a new baby in the house my Q701s were just a tad leaky for a sleeping angel and a cranky soap-addicted wife so an alternative had to be found and quickly! A few short clicks later I came across the What Hifi review and made my order. In a few days I had shiny new headphones to go with the new arrival. Let's get the less great out of the way up front - these are not lookers and will not win you admiring glances out and about town if you are brave enough to take them or their 551 brothers out on the street. But it's the sound that seduces. Rich and powerful, I found that they suited all manner of music and were especially appealing when listening to action movie soundtracks. They are not as spacious sounding as the Q701s that they replaced but come very close indeed. The industrial design means that they are vey sturdy in use and have survived a number of falls without a scratch. Comfort is good, but my ears tend to heat up after about an hour and a half of use, which is just the right time to go and make another cup of tea in any case. So sturdy, sweet sounding and able drown out the soaps on tv without leaking their own sound. Add in the fact that these are available for under a ton, and you have one of the best hifi upgrades on the market. An easy recommendation.
Date published: 2016-01-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Open sound from closed cans I bought these in March 2012 and they're still going great! They sound like open cans, but they're closed. Great bass powerful notes come from them when paired with even a cheap DAC.
Date published: 2015-12-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It must be Magic Never have I listened to a set of closed back headphones that sound anything but. As soon as you place these AKG's comfortably on your ears, put on your favourite albums as loud as you like without disturbing anyone (hardly any sound leakage at all) and close your eyes, you hear the layers peel away from the back of these K550's. You'll find yourself double checking the rest of the house can't hear what your listening to. This is just where the magic starts - they reproduce bass exactly the way the artist intended, nothing artificial at all. Daft Punk's Lose Yourself To Dance hits hard but the K550's make sure the bass doesn't swallow up the rest of the intricately layered sounds. Treble and midrange are well balanced and together with the accurately produced bass this leads to an uncoloured sound. I think the best way to describe the AKG K550's is they just get out of the way - they don't try and force their own sound on the music like so many headphones try to do, they want you to hear as much as what the artist heard in the studio as possible. Yes they get a bit warm on the ears around the hour mark and they could uncover a little more detail - but you won't care as these bounce along with boundless energy giving your favourites a new lease of life.
Date published: 2015-12-16
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Light on bass I really want to like these headphones. They are really big and look powerful but they are noticeably light on the bass frequencies. The highs are ok but are not balanced to my ears or compared to other quality phones. Shame as I blind purchased due to reviews. Maybe I have a bad example, but if you love deep bass, you may be very dissapointed.
Date published: 2015-06-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My favourite pair of boots. Except they're headphones. I've had my AKG K550 headphones for 3 years. That's long enough to really get to know how they sound, with different music and equipment and in a whole range of situations and moods. As a musician and sound engineer I've used lots of headphones, including much more expensive ones. For my personal use I keep coming back to these AKGs. Others sometimes sound better in some way for a while, maybe a fuller sounding bass or a bit more presence. But what starts as "better" turns into "unbalanced", "tiring" or even "distracting" with extended use. When I put the AKGs on and choose a song to listen to, within a few bars I've forgotten about the headphones completely. For me, that's their genius. Some closed backed headphones seem to me to put the stereo image right inside your skull. This gets unsettling and a bit weird, especially with modern production techniques which use psychoacoustic tricks to make sounds seem to come at you from impossible directions. It's momentarily entertaining, in the way a fairground ride is, but distracting too. I'm not a great fan of having sonic holes drilled through my brain. The AKG K550s put your head inside the music, not the music inside your head. 32 ohm impedance means they're plenty loud enough plugged straight into a smartphone or iPad - great if you don't mind wearing full sized over-ear 'phones when you're out and about. For the best listening, as with any headphones, a decent DAC and amp tightens up the sound noticeably. These AKGs have relatively large 50mm drivers, which I'm guessing has something to do with their unforced, confident performance. I listen to all sorts of music, and they interpret everything just how I like. The ultra low bass in Radioactive (Imagine Dragons) is just as offensive as intended, while the acoustic guitar on Heart Is a Drum (Beck) sparkles like it's right in the room with you. I paid £180 for mine. Given today's street price of nearer £100, these are fabulous value. If you've never had a good pair of headphones, this is probably the single most cost-effective way to take your listening enjoyment to a new level, whatever you listen to. One last thing though: how music sounds through headphones is highly subjective. It's like that "blue and black or white and gold?" dress thing that's been all round the Internet. Two people can listen to the same music, played on the same equipment, through the same headphones. One person can think they sound great, the other can think they're rubbish. And here's the thing - they can both be right.
Date published: 2015-04-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from For the close back headphone this the best bet! I have owned the headphone for two years. I hook it up with sony HAP-S1, it revealed many different good and bad recording sources. I was able to listen to the good recording SOURCES such as TOOL BOX, TRACY CHAPMAN and many more by the headohone. I could hear and tell the instruments, vocal came out from the phone smothly and clearly, on the contrary when I feed in the poor recording sources then the sounds came out from the phone is awfull so it all depends the sources. No wonder some people got one from the store when they reached home felt very upsad and complaint the store cheating. I tried Beyerdynamic T5p which is a hi end close back, it sounds better and is portable with short cord but I have to pay almost 10 times of the AKG 550, for my personal preference and budget I went for AKG 550 and am satisfied with it though the head band a little bit loosen. If I could enjoy music and pay less on the device then this is.
Date published: 2015-03-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just perfect. Hi there, I thought i'd write my thought's on these great sounding headphone's now that i have properly burned them in. I can say without any hesitation that these headphone's sound beutifully spaciouse, full of detail, balanced and are very acurate sounding also the amazing part is that even that they are closed back they sound like more expensive open backed headphone's that give's music that depth, naturality and spaciousness that normal closed back design's can not produce. They fit nice and snug are robust and very well made, what more can one ask for. I am a really fussy person when it come's to how headphone's look and more importantly sound and i have to say that the sound quality of these headphone's truly blew me away and they sound much more expensive than their price suggest's. A very, very happy owner of these and lastly if you want the sound of open back headphone's in a closed back design than look no further than these truly amazing AKG K550's and you will not be dissapointed at all.
Date published: 2015-02-26
  • y_2017, m_3, d_24, h_21
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_12
  • loc_en_GB, sid_akg_k550, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_what-hifi